BLUSHING BEAUTY

I have a teeny confession to make: I’m a bit of a blusher addict. I don’t wear a lot of makeup day-to-day, but there are two things I rarely skip: blusher, and eyebrow pencil. Years of over-plucking have left my brows a little sparse (but I’m working on it!), and without blusher, I’ve been known to frighten people with my pallor. I live in a constant quest for the perfect blusher– one that brings a gentle, natural flush to my cheeks and takes away the Ghost of Christmas Past effect without making me look like I’ve been on the business end of Homer Simpson’s makeup gun.

At the moment, these are my top three picks for the job:

blush1
From Left:
Clinque Quick Blush in #05 Pronto Pink
Benefitย  Blush in “Dandelion”
Estee Lauder Tender Blush in #214 Rose Nuance

I try to keep my makeup collection small and tidy, so I tend to give away or chuck out items as I add new ones. I’ve really plastered the colour on for the swatches, so they don’t have to be as strong as this, but it gives a better idea of the tones involved, if not the ideal depth of the colour.

blush2From Left:ย  Clinque, Estee Lauder, Benefit

As you can see from the state of the Estee Lauder one in the compact, I’ve held on to that for a good long time, and it’s probably still my go-to shade. It’s has a variety of nice pinks from soft to strong, so you can pick a middling shade, one that’s super light, or something darker if you’re going for a bolder, neon/80s look.

The Benefit one is something I got for my birthday in December as part of their “Feelin’ Dandy” lip and cheek kit (which I love), and it’s really growing on me. Though peachier than the Estee Lauder, it still avoids being orangey (a colour that doesn’t suit my super pale, neutralish complexion), and gives a lovely sheer glow.

The Clinque is the newest addition of the bunch, and I’m in two minds about it. I generally don’t give a monkey’s about packaging, but the product here is well-protected and ultra-portable, both of which are high on my list of concerns. The problem is it might be a little too well-protected– you really have to dig into it with the little twist-up brush within the cylinder to get the colour onto the brush, and trying to get a little colour (as opposed to “tons” or “none”) can be difficult. The colour itself is a nice pink, though: not as strong as the Estee Lauder, but more pink than the Benefit.

I can’t see myself parting with any of these in the immediate future, though I hope the I’ll get better at getting the Clinque out of the compact as time goes on!

Anyone have a recommendation for a better natural-looking, sheer pinky blush for pale girls? Or suggestions on how to better get at my lovely new Clinque shade? I’d be interested to hear them if you do.

6 Comments

  1. Posted March 1, 2014 at 00:34 | Permalink | Reply

    I too am definitely a blush person. Especially with being so pale, I really hate to go without a little something on the cheeks! Most of the blushes I have are SUPER pigmented so they take a little extra control to make sure it doesn’t come out clownish, hehe. So I’d probably like to find a more natural one too ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Posted March 1, 2014 at 02:17 | Permalink | Reply

      Someone honestly bumped into me once at night and called me “a wraith in the dark”; I’ll never forget it! (Sure, they were a little tipsy, but it still stuck with me.)

      If you want natural, I’d recommend the Benefit one above, as it’s very sheer compared to the others, but you could be a long time building it up to get to the level you’re used to…

      • Posted March 1, 2014 at 03:16 | Permalink | Reply

        Gothca. And yikes that’s quite a name to be called!

        • Posted March 1, 2014 at 03:49 | Permalink | Reply

          I think it’s the hair! If you’ve got long hair down to your waist, and you’re pale, and you’re creeping about in the dark, and you’re wearing black clothing, you can see why you might give someone a bit of a fright…

          • Posted March 1, 2014 at 03:51 | Permalink | Reply

            Haha well goodness gracious. Definitely quite the fantasy like description ๐Ÿ™‚

            • Posted March 1, 2014 at 03:56 | Permalink | Reply

              That’s the Irish for you. We can never quite escape our heritage, lol. ๐Ÿ˜€

One Trackback

  1. […] Pink lipstick, but so far it has proved elusive. I mentioned in a previous post how I am forever in pursuit of the perfect blusher– my quest for the perfect pink lipstick is likewise ongoing.ย  I may, however, have reached a […]

Leave a Reply

