PRODUCTS I CAN’T LIVE WITHOUT #2

In my previous post, I talked about how I discovered Kiehl’s through their lipbalm. I used that lipbalm for years, and while I tried a few other things –including Creme de la Mer’s version– it was a long time before I found anything that could fully replace the Kiehl’s version in my heart.

Carmex Moisturising Lip Balm is that thing.

carmex

Let me tell you why under a cut:

Right before Christmas, my lips started feeling sore and dry. I assumed it was sleeping with the heating on (I know it’s supposedly “unhealthy” to use the central heating a lot– I don’t care; in this day and age, I flatly refuse to be cold indoors!) and didn’t pay much heed of it… Until I got a little tiny cut at the corner of my mouth. I assumed it was some kind of horrible Vitamin C deficiency, and started taking VitC tablets, but they made no difference. The cut got worse. A mirror developed at the opposite corner. Smiling became painful. Concerned, and having had enough, I went to the pharmacist to see if they could recommend anything.

Blessedly, this wasn’t infected, and she told me all I needed was frequent application of lipbalm. Surprised, I said I used lipbalm all the time. ‘Ah,’ she said, ‘But are you using the right one?’

Apparently not. She sent me off with a tube of this and instructions to use it every few hours, and to be diligent about it. It was, she promised, the most effective lip balm on the market.

She wasn’t wrong! A few weeks later, my mouth problems had cleared up completely. I’ve always had a terrible habit of chewing on my lips, and it also cleared up the flakiness associated with that, as well. The built-in SPF is pretty sweet, too.

Used frequently, this stuff is basically magic in a tube.

I prefer the Cherry variety because it smells a little nicer, but even the unscented kind is pretty inoffensive. The texture is thick and velvety, and you only need a tiny dot for your entire mouth, so it lasts a good while. It’s available in most pharmacies I’ve been to, including McCabes and Boots. At under €4, it’s a budget beauty saviour, and the tube is small enough to slip into a pocket, an Ugg boot, or a make-up bag without causing any problems. I never go anywhere without a tube, and you can find them scattered around strategic locations throughout my house, as well. This one gets my fullest and heartiest recommendation!

PROS:
Very effective
Very affordable
Lovely texture
CONS:
Unscented version is a little bland scentwise

Anyone got a better lipbalm to recommend, or do you love this one as much as I do? Let me know!
-A-

4 Comments

  1. Anne Louise Frandsen
    Posted March 10, 2014 at 19:08 | Permalink | Reply

    I also swear by this!!! xoxo http://powderandpuff.wordpress.com

    • Posted March 10, 2014 at 19:16 | Permalink | Reply

      It’s such a wonder for such a cheap product! Clinque does a similar version that works pretty well and smells a little nicer (Lip Superbalm, I think it’s called), but it’s 4x the price of the Carmex! I’m probably going to stick with this one…

  2. Posted March 10, 2014 at 19:34 | Permalink | Reply

    I use this all day everyday! Can’t live without xxx

    • Posted March 10, 2014 at 19:47 | Permalink | Reply

      It’s definitely one of the better options out there. Still chuffed with out cheap it is!

Leave a Reply

