PRODUCTS I CAN’T LIVE WITHOUT #3

Continuing on my “Products I Can’t Live Without” series (counting up, not counting down, as I imagine new things will continue to be added to the list), today we have number three. It’s kind of a cheat to put two items in one place, but considering they’re basically the same thing, I feel justified.

#3 on my list of Products I Can’t Live Without:

rapidlash

RapidLash/RapidBrow.

My full write-up under the cut:

Before we begin, I have a confession to make. A few years ago, this might have been something embarrassing, but considering how many people have admitted to this problem before me, I feel comfortable confessing this to everyone: I was a teenage over-plucker.

In my defence, I was born with giant eyebrows. Not the sexy, perfectly-shaped Cara Delvigne type, either– the kind that look like catepillars who’ve seen too many all-you-can-eat buffets. Worse, they were black. Jet black. Which made my naturally fair hair look like it was dyed. And which stood out starkly on my ghost-pale skin.

So I plucked. A lot. And then I plucked some more.

At the end of it all, I was left with spotty, sparse brows (that still were black, god damn it!) growing in odd directions and looking utterly dire. After two full years of trying to grow them back in, they were a little fuller, but the spots right above my nose remained sadly bald. Ready to try anything short of the surgical option at this point, I turned to something I spotted one day in Boots: RapidBrow. It had the words “brow” and “rapid” in it, so I figured if it did even half of what it said on the tin, I was all set. And, since there was a 3-for-2 deal on that day, I decided I might as well get a second tube. Drawing the line at three tubes of a product I wasn’t even sure would work for me, I opted for the RapidLash as my free item. I’ve never had wimpy eyelashes, but I figured a little boost couldn’t hurt, right?

Three months in, and I realised it did not hurt. It had, in fact, done bloody wonders.

RapidBrow comes with a little spoolie brush typical of mascara or an eyebrow pencil. RapidLash comes with a teeny tiny brush like lipgloss. I had kind of expected this to be the other way around, but it seems like the lash stuff should only be applied to the base of the lashes, where the brow stuff can be worked through, which explains it. Application of both is very easy, and I’ve gotten the lash stuff in my eyes several times with no adverse stingy/burny effects (though I still wouldn’t advise doing it). There’s no noticeable scent off either of them, and they both have pretty good lasting power– perhaps the lash stuff a little more so than the brow version (but possibly that’s because I’m more sparing with it as it’s my brows that are baldy).

It’s been over a year and three or four tubes of each now, and I’m still using them. My eyebrows are not 100% where I would like them to be, but they are immeasurably better than when I started. The bald spots have almost completely filled in, and they no longer look anemic and sad when I’m not wearing eyebrow pencil. My eyelashes are longer and more numerous than when I started out, and while it’s difficult to measure, I think they might be thicker, as well.

Two points of note: you can’t wear the RapidBrow with makeup (you get little clumps of makeup in your brows if you try), and probably not the lash stuff, either (though I haven’t tried that out). You also can’t use them interchangably (I think), because they have varying concentrations of ingredients specific to the area of usage– in fact, there’s one in particular which is entirely different in the RapidBrow, and since it’s not included in the lash stuff, I would be concerned about putting that directly into my eye area.

Overall, I am very happy with these products. I keep promising myself I’ll quit them, because they are not cheap (each tube will set you back around €51 each), but I just can’t bring myself to give them up. How can I go back to underpowered lashes now when someone recently asked me what brand of falsies I was wearing? I think I might be sticking with these babies for a long time… And as for the wretched colour of my eyebrows? A little bit of Jolen will always sort that out pronto.

PROS:
Does what it says on the tin
Long-lasting
CONS:
Price-point is painful
Eyebrow version cannot be combined with makeup

Do you have any thoughts on RapidLash or RapidBrow? Do you have any other suggestions for the lash-or-brow challenged? Drop me a line if you do!
-A-

2 Comments

  1. Posted March 15, 2014 at 07:13 | Permalink | Reply

    Definitely going to look at trying out the rapidlash now! Looks awesome

    • Posted March 15, 2014 at 21:36 | Permalink | Reply

      Ooh, good luck with it! I hope it works out for you. It was hard to tell with my top lashes because they were always fairly good, but it definitely made my bottom ones longer– basically I think what happens is that it conditions them so they don’t fall out as early so they get to be longer and more numerous?

      Either way, it works for me. Enjoy! ❤

Leave a Reply

