A LITTLE RANT.

As a general rule, I believe in keeping my blog positive and spending my time talking about things that make me happy rather than things that annoy me. There’s two reasons for this:

1. I don’t like hurting anybody’s feelings, and
2. I think there’s enough negativity on the Internet out there already.

However, I’m going to talk about this issue because it doesn’t apply to any one person, product, or company, so it’s not attacking anyone directly, and also because I haven’t seen anyone else complaining about this yet, which astonishes me. What is this thing? Limited Editions.

If there are two words guaranteed to turn me off a product, it’s the words “Limited Edition”. There are only two reasons a brand brings out a limited edition of anything: because they don’t think sales will justify inclusion of it in their full-time lineup (i.e., it’s a bit pants), or because they want to force people to buy it now, right now, immediately, or miss out forever (i.e., they’re strong-arming their customers).

I don’t like being hassled into making a purchase without being able to take time to research the product and decide whether or not I want to buy it, and I like to be able to choose when I buy something in accordance with when it fits into my financial schedule. I’m also leery of buying a product when the company behind it doesn’t seem to have much confidence in its marketability. Lastly, I absolutely despise the notion I won’t ever be able to replace it if –despite these shortcomings– I do happen to fall in love with the product.

Honestly, what is the point of that? Isn’t repeat business the cornerstone of all business? I already hate it when something I love is discontinued, and that’s unavoidable– with Limited Editions, you’re setting yourself up for disappointment either way. Either you’re not sold on the product and it was a waste of your money, or you love it but will never be able to get it again and it’s a source of heartache. There’s no winning there!

Consequently, I try to never buy Limited Edition versions of anything. Any time I ever have, I’ve either immediately understood why it was a “short term offering”, or I loved it and became so intent on using this “irreplaceable thing” sparingly that I never really got any enjoyment out of it.

Someone tell me I’m not the only person out there who feels this way. Do you avoid Limited Editions? Do you collect them, secure in the knowledge that the brand’s next LE offering will replace it in your attentions as soon as it’s finished? Or do you hoard, Gollum-like, multiples of ones you love for years and years in the hopes that one day something similar will be released? I’m really curious to see where other people stand on this issue.

Drop me a line and let me know!
-A-

7 Comments

  1. Posted March 20, 2014 at 02:59 | Permalink | Reply

    Great post! I agree with you. It creates this hyped up frenzy that’s very frustrating. Like thanks for making it a rushed process that if I don’t take advantage of RIGHT NOW, I’ll never get to explore. It’s annoying. Good for you for sharing such thoughts.

    • Posted March 20, 2014 at 20:25 | Permalink | Reply

      Aw, thank you! Yeah, I get very irritated with the frenzy and hype, and then very frustrated with the lack of availability afterwards. In general it’s just a no-win situation for me. Thanks for commenting! ❤

  2. Posted March 31, 2014 at 19:25 | Permalink | Reply

    With you on it

    • Posted March 31, 2014 at 22:24 | Permalink | Reply

      Ugh, isn’t it so frustrating? I’m so over it!

      • Posted March 31, 2014 at 22:25 | Permalink | Reply

        You got me thinking too !

        • Posted March 31, 2014 at 22:27 | Permalink | Reply

          I hope everyone thinks about it! It might reduce the hype/demand for this type of thing and it might result in fewer LE releases and more thought put into behind-the-scenes product development… But I don’t see it happening!

          • Posted March 31, 2014 at 22:39 | Permalink | Reply

            You are so right about the forced express purchases.. And you see the limited editions lingering in the stores forever .. Defeats the whole point

2 Trackbacks

  1. By ANOTHER DUNDRUM HAUL | stuff nez likes on May 2, 2014 at 01:06

    […] mentioned previously, I’m no fan of Limited Edition products, but I couldn’t pass this one up. Can you spot the similarities in colours to the Stila […]

  2. By ANOTHER DUNDRUM HAUL on September 18, 2015 at 23:01

    […] mentioned previously, I’m no fan of Limited Edition products, but I couldn’t pass this one up. Can you spot the similarities in colours to the Stila […]

Leave a Reply

