ON MOTHER’S DAY

In a brief departure from your regularly scheduled programming, I’d like to take a minute to talk about mothers. Specifically, I’d like to talk about my mother. I know she reads this blog, so I’m going to take this as an opportunity to say:

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

I’m fortunate enough to be blessed with the best mother imaginable. I recently watched a video where people were interviewed in the run up to Mother’s Day, where they asked questions like  How often do you talk to your mother? and What’s the best advice your mother’s ever given you? I’m lucky enough to talk to my mother every day, but the last one really stuck with me, because it made me realise that my mother doesn’t give advice. She just leads by example.

My mother is hard-working, considerate, clever, witty, resourceful, generous, and kind. She goes out of her way to do nice things for everyone, and always tries to make everything better. There’s no problem she won’t try to tackle, and more often than not, she succeeds in coming up with a solution.

She instilled in me a love of reading, a sense of independence, and a determination to try my best– things for which I will always be grateful. She taught me to appreciate life without being complacent, to respect other people without being passive, to make sensible decisions without suppressing my dreams, to have high standards without being querulous, to be honest without being reckless, to be willing to take on challenges without ignoring my limits, to have humour without being insensitive, and to appreciate quality without being resentful of others.

She has always been there for me, and my happiness has so obviously always been her first priority. There is nobody whose good opinion matters more to me. I have more fun with my mum than anyone else I know, and I realise how lucky I am to be able to say that. She has given me more, both in practical terms and in a less tangible manner, than any daughter could ever deserve.

Sometimes we argue. Frequently we disagree. But there is no-one on this Earth that I consider more trustworthy, more reliable, more resourceful, or more kind. She has been my confidant, my friend, and my inspiration for thirty years. There is no-one on this Earth that I would rather have as a mother.

Thank you for everything, Mum.

Leave a Reply

