PRODUCTS I CAN’T LIVE WITHOUT #10

I’m going to be honest here: today’s Product I Can’t Live Without isn’t going to be for everyone. Flexitol Heel Balm is something I started using a couple of months ago, and I’m going to stick with it because it’s insanely effective, but there are a number of problems with it that I definitely need to talk about.

flexitol


First thing’s first: this stuff works. I mean, it works. I have really terrible skin on my feet– not quite as bad as the pictures they use on the box for this stuff (does anyone really have skin that bad?!), but because I spend a lot of time barefoot and I do a lot of walking and jogging, my feet are usually in bad order. That’s where the Flexitol steps in: after just three days of use, I find my skin improves dramatically, and after a week or two of using it, it’s like having brand new feet. Any toughness or flakiness is pretty much utterly eradicated by the fourteen-day mark, in my experience. It’s incredibly inexpensive for how effective it is, too: just  €8 a tube.

What’s even better is that it can also be used for treating Keratosis Pilaris– those horrible little red bumps that you can get on your arms and legs and which seem entirely resistant to exfoliation? I’m lucky to only suffer this very mildly (apparently 50% of people experience this heinousness in varying degrees of severity), but it annoys the hell out of me. Who wants bumpy red skin and ingrown hairs? Nobody, that’s who, and most certainly not me. Two of the best treatments for KP? Glycolic acid and urea, which Flexitol is packed with.

Yes, urea: the stuff in pee. Probably this product contains synthesized urea (because they’ve totally been able to do that for years) rather than stuff actually extracted from urine. Unfortunately, this makes absolutely no difference to the smell of this product, because it’s bloody awful. One of the other ingredients listed is perfume, but in that I can only assume they’re– Well: that they’re taking the piss, honestly, because it still smells pretty terrible.

…But I don’t care. Pretty much nothing sort of a 500% price increase is going to stop me using this stuff, because it works. Between walking, dancing, and just generally being a lazy brat who doesn’t like to spend a lot of time faffing about with bodycare, I’ve always had terrible feet– and for the first time in my life, this is no longer the case. I know it’s all thanks to the Flexitol, too, so terrible smell aside (it’s also incredibly thick and paste-like, and takes ages to soak in), I have to give this product my complete recommendation. I use it twice a day, every day (morning and night, right before I do my facial routine; the necessary hand-washing after application means my hands are squeaky clean before tackling my face), and I don’t see that changing any time in the future.

PROS:
Very affordable
Incredibly effective
CONS:
Smells god-awful
Thick, paste-like formula

.
Do you have a foot care product you’d like to recommend, or are you also a fan of Flexitol? Drop me a line and let me know!
-A-

3 Comments

  1. Posted March 31, 2014 at 00:48 | Permalink | Reply

    Hmm .. Never tried .. My foot formula has always been Vaseline and socks..

    • Posted March 31, 2014 at 13:19 | Permalink | Reply

      Vaseline is good, but I don’t think there’s any urea in it, just petroleum jelly. So far as I’m aware (and I’m not a biochemist, so this is very definitely not gospel!), that means it doesn’t have the same penetration capacity as something like urea, which is naturally present in the skin and works as a humectant.

      Then again, if you don’t suffer from the same terrible dryness of foot as I do, you might not need the heavy duty stuff. This was developed for diabetics (though I am not one) to ensure optimal foot care (since that can lead to so many foot complaints).

      If you don’t really feel you *need* it, then I definitely wouldn’t bother since Vaseline is cheaper and easier to obtain, but if you do have dry feet, this basically can’t be beaten on ingredients for the price.

      • Posted March 31, 2014 at 13:37 | Permalink | Reply

        Hmmm .. I gotta give Vaseline a second look then ! Thanks for the info dear..!

Leave a Reply

