PRODUCT EXPERIENCE: NEUTROGENA

While in Tesco recently, I spotted something I’d been wanting to try on special offer, so into the trolley it went. What was this product?

neutrogena

It was Neutrogena Pink Grapefruit Daily Scrub.

I’ve heard good things about this because it’s supposed to be a scrub that scrubs without being scrubby, if that makes any sense. While I do throw on the old biological peels a few times a week (thank you, Kiehl’s), I figured this was something that couldn’t hurt to try, either. I’m currently using up the last of my Creme de le Mer cleansing gel as my daily cleanser, and I’m in two minds about whether or not to repurchase it because my skin doesn’t seem to realise that I’m actually in my thirties now, and insists on giving me shitty little teenage spots like I was seventeen. (Which is about how old I feel mentally most of the time– perhaps it’s going on that rather than on my actual age?) Consequently, I always feel I get better results from it when I use a cleanser (but not a moisturiser!) aimed at people several years younger than I really am.

This, I thought, might be exactly what I need, because it’s got lots of salicylic acid in it, and will hopefully prevent my skin from throwing up unwanted spots due to a lack of bacterial control.  I eagerly tried it out once I got home (any time I’m wearing makeup, I pretty much feel compelled to get it off my face pronto once I walk in the door), and so far, I’m pretty happy.

The first thing you’re going to notice about this stuff is that it’s thick. It’s basically like treacle for your face, except it smells of delicious citriusiness. You really don’t need a lot (I accidenally put so much on my facecloth that it stained it pink until I ran it under the tap for five minutes, in fact), and it feels nice on the skin. I definitely did feel the Tightness Tingle as soon as I put it on, though, and my skin was definitely a little dried out after I washed it off. However, for all of that, my skin also felt incredibly fresh and clean, which I appreciated. A little bit of Hydraluron followed by some heavy duty moisturising set me right again, and I think I’ll be using this one in the future.

Not twice a day, perhaps; it’s a little harsh for that. But maybe if I use this in the morning and the Creme de la Mer in the evenings, I’ll achieve a nice balance between youthful, spot-prone skincare and something that will be gentle enough for slightly-older faces. I’ll keep you posted as to how it works out for me!

Have you tried Pink Grapefruit Daily Scrub before? Do you have a suggestion for a good cleanser for a spot-prone person who doesn’t feel cleansed after an oil-based cleanser? Drop me a line and let me know!
-A-

Leave a Reply

