BALM STAINS: REVLON VS WET & WILD

So recently I picked up two pink-toned balm stains and I’ve been trying them out to see which one is the superior lip stain.

lipstains

On the left, we have Revlon‘s Just Bitten Kissable in 020, “Lovesick”, and on the right, Wet & Wild‘s Megaslicks Balm Stain n E127. The Revlon offering is about €12, the Wet&Wild one about €4, so there’s a sizeable difference in price… But is there a difference in quality?

The answer, surprisingly, is: not that I can discern. Here’s the full breakdown, as I find it:

– They both give quite a smooth finish.
– The Revlon one is a little more “buildable” (as you can see on the extreme left).
– The Wet & Wild has a less noticeable scent.
– They’re equally long-lasting.
– They’re equally moisturising.
– The colour payoff for both is excellent.

Overall, I can’t say I prefer either one of them. If budget is your primary concern, I don’t think you’re going to regret going for the Wet & Wild option since there isn’t a big drop in quality. The Revlon line has some great colours, though, so if they appeal to you more, I don’t think you’re going to regret buying that one, either. I’m definitely going to be looking to balm stains in the future as a viable alternative to lipstick, and I can totally recommend them.

UPDATE: I tried to wash it off the night after taking the above photo, with minimal success. The next morning, this is how they looked:

lipstains2

Excuse my goosepimply skin; it was cold when I was taking this picture! As you can see, they both last really well, though the Wet & Wild on the right had a little better staying power. Know what I had to use to completely eradicate the colour? Domestos. Yes, the stuff you use to make your toilet sparkly. (No, I don’t recommend using it on your skin, but I was getting desperate.) Both of these have epic staying power.

Are you a fan of balm stains? Do you have a preference for either of these products? Drop me a line and let me know!
-A-

2 Comments

  1. Posted April 6, 2014 at 16:15 | Permalink | Reply

    Nice comparison! I do have both of these but haven’t worn them close enough in time to remember any differences or similarities. Your conclusion sounds correct though!

    • Posted April 8, 2014 at 01:34 | Permalink | Reply

      I think I remember seeing them on your LOTD posts! They’re really very similar. I find the W&W colour suits me better overall so I tend to wear that one more, but they’re both pretty solid products. Thank you for commenting! ❤

Leave a Reply

