PRODUCT EXPERIENCE: PS EYESHADOW PALETTE

I promised I’d do a review of that €3.50 10-colour eyeshadow palette I picked up in Primark during my last shopping trip to Dundrum.

ud-vs-primark2

I am astonished by how good this is, actually. Admittedly the packaging is cheap and plasticky, but it weighs nearly nothing. The shadows themselves are pretty good, and there’s a nice mix of shades and textures: colours range from cool beige to dark grey in both shimmers and mattes. This is pretty obviously a dupe of the original Naked palette:

ud-vs-primark1

The Primark version only has 10 shadows, though, so there are a few colours missing, but overall it’s not a bad effort. It comes with a standard eyeshadow sponge thing which has a nice long handle, and as those kind of applicators go, it’s decent quality (though obviously no comparison to a brush). How do they swatch out? Well, I’m afraid I didn’t have time to do them all, but here’s a glitter (first from left) and a matte (fifth from left):

ud-vs-primark3

The glitter shadows really pack a punch with good depth of colour and a great shimmer. The matte ones take a little more effort to build up the colour, but neither of them are gritty or hard to apply.

Obviously the quality isn’t anything like with the UD palettes, and the colour is not as long-wearing (without a primer, they faded away within about four hours), but for a super budget offering, this is pretty incredible. It’s so cheap and lightweight that I’ll be able to toss it into a bag and take it with me for any time I need a nude-colour top-up. I never carry my Naked palettes around with me in case they get knocked about since they’re so pricey to replace (and sometimes go out of stock for months), so this will make a decent stand-in.

I’m not sure these are still on sale, if I’m being honest, because I snagged the last one, but if you do see them about? You could spend €3.50 on an awful lot worse.

Have you tried this palette? Do you know of a better low-cost Naked dupe? Drop me a line and let me know!
-A-

One Comment

  1. Posted May 19, 2017 at 23:02 | Permalink | Reply

    I was looking at these palettes today but wasn’t totally convinced ;/

One Trackback

  1. […] done a more comprehensive review of this palette here, if you’re […]

Leave a Reply

