OUTFIT OF THE DAY

Today’s outfit is All About The Shoes, so everything else is a little more low-key to let these babies shine. I’m not really a shoe person (as is probably already screamingly apparent from my previous OOTD posts, most of which feature Uggs), but I fell in love with these boots some years ago, bought them, and definitely don’t wear them enough. They’re just not comfy, and I get so cranky when my feet are sore that it’s best for everyone if I remain in my Uggs as much as possible! Still, a little branching out occasionally doesn’t hurt. Almost everything else I have on came from A-Wear, a store that has since, alas, gone to that great retail warehouse in the sky.

Apparently, it was around when my mother was a young ‘un in the 70s, and was in those days called GayWear. Well, you can imagine why they changed it in the late 80s…! It was a great stop regardless of the name, though: mum always found their jeans fit her perfectly, and I loved their leggings, tops, and sweaters. We were both very saddened to see it go the way of the Dodo, and were hoping it would make some kind of comeback. Apparently, this was not to be, so we stocked up on whatever we could during their final closing down sale. I got these leggings for about €5, and the sweater for €10…! We salute you, Gaywear A-Wear, and thank you for your contributions to our wardrobes.

ootd28

Sweater: A-Wear
Thermal Vest: Primark
Leggings: A-Wear
Boots: Carvela (Harrods)

I wore a giant leather coat and a red D&G doctor’s bag with this outfit when we went out earlier, but I have no pics of that as all of them came out wonky, for some reason.

Do you miss A-Wear? What other long-gone stores are you still longing for? Are you usually a comfy footwear person like me, or are you prepared to suffer for your art on a daily basis? Drop me a line and let me know!
-A-

Leave a Reply

