LIEBSTER AWARD!

I was nominated for a Liebster Award by the lovely Starr Shyne  and the delightful Lisa Sherin! Thank you so much, guys; I’ve never gotten an award like this before, and it really means a lot to me.

liebster-award

The Liebster Award acknowledges up-and-coming bloggers with less than 200 followers and is a great way for all of us to get to know each other a little more! The rules for participating are as follows:

1. Acknowledge the blogger who nominated you.
2. Answer 10 questions your nominator asked.
3. Nominate 10 bloggers (w/ less than 200 followers) that you feel deserve recognition!
4. Inform the above bloggers that you have nominated them.
5. Post 10 questions for them to answer.

I would have had this up faster, but as I looked through my list of followers and people I followed, I realised that most of them were long-established blogs with lots of followers and awards already! A lot of blogs hide their follower count, too, so finding newer and smaller blogs was something of a challenge. A bit of time searching for new bloggers who deserved a little bit of the spotlight yielded a small list of awesome, so here are some questions for them:

01. Do you write your blog posts in advance, or on the day your post them?
02. Do you have a favourite post you’re really proud of, or one which is about something close to your heart, that you’d like to link to?
03. What’s something you’d like to discuss on you blog, but haven’t yet spoken about?
04. What’s the biggest difference between your offline self and your online self?
05. What websites do you read/check daily?
06. What’s the most outlandish purchase you’ve ever made?
07. What’s the best bargain you’ve ever found?
08. Where is your favourite place in the world to visit?
09. How do you reward or treat yourself after a stressful day or a job well done?
10. What’s the most inspirational thing you’ve ever heard?

And the list of nominees itself:

Victoria @ VictoriaRodgers
Poppy @ PoppyLiving
Gabrielle @ AllKindsOfLovlies
MVJ @ 30NeverMind
Rachel @ ForTheLoveOfSundays
Maria @ LittleMissConsume
Mary-Kate @ MaryKateLoves
Emma @ HowBooksRuleMyLife
Natasha @ InTheShoes
Betsy @ SimplyTheBetsy
.

Thank you for writing awesome posts, guys!

Here’s what LisaSherin asked me:

What 5 items would you take to a desert island? (Not restricted to beauty items)
1. A laptop.
2. A solar charger.
3. A satellite phone with bluetooth connectivity.
4. A kettle.
5. A crate of Robert Roberts Chinese Green Tea.

Everything in my life is secondary to good tea, and a working internet connection.

What is the last beauty product you purchased?
Technically, the Creme de la Mer moisturiser that I got swapped at the airport yesterday, because I had to get a refund on my incorrect item, and then repurchase the right one. (Silly computer systems!)

3. Liquid, gel or pencil eyeliner?
Pencil, if I must, but I’m not really an eyeliner fan, and very rarely wear it. I prefer the twist-up kind you have to pare, because otherwise I will end up poking myself in the eye with the wood when I want to wear the liner and can’t find my pencil sharpener.

If you could pick anyone, living or dead, to have dinner with, who would it be?
I’m supposed to say something profound like God or Charlotte Perkins Gilman or Marie Curie or Einstein, aren’t I? I would have absolutely no idea what to say to any of those people, though, and it would probably be horribly awkward. Let’s say Joss Whedon. Or Leonard Nimoy. And I would very much like it to go like Sheldon’s dinner with James Earl Jones. That would be spiffy.

When doing your makeup which feature do you prefer to emphasize, eyes or lips?
Eyes, I think. Though it varies from day to day.

What is your favourite Spring trend?
This is a hard one for me, because I don’t really pay much attention to trends. I actually had to Google for this. Bare faces, I guess? Or white nailpolish. I love white nailpolish.

When did you start blogging and why?
I started blogging in February of this year, mainly because I wanted an outlet for all the things my friends aren’t much interested in.

What is the most interesting thing you have eaten today?
I’m the worst eater. Today I have eaten: two roast chicken legs, a handful of spinach, two mini packets of peanuty M&Ms, and two pots of low-fat Activia yoghurt. I don’t think any of that is interesting at all, really… I’m not what you’d call a foodie, really.

What would you do now if you had the day to yourself?
Today actually has been my first day of relaxation since I came back from holidays (going on vacation means so much piles up to be done when you get home!), so today I have: picked out my Liebster award nominees, watched The Amazing Spider-Man, and done some yoga. My idea of relaxation is very low-key.

What is the nicest thing you have done for a stranger lately?
Helped some elderly people remove their luggage from the baggage carousel. Not that they actually needed it– I was quite impressed by how fit the OAPs on that trip were! Some of them were marching up and down the mountains daily, and fair play to them. That’s the way to do it.

And my questions from Starr Shyne:

1. What is you holy grail makeup product?
One that actually exists, or one I’d like to exist? What I would like to exist is a pink lipstick that gives me the colour I want without frostiness or stickiness, and apparently this is a fantasy product! One that actually exists which I like very much is Urban Decay’s Naked 3 palette. I absolutely love it.

2. Favorite Lipstick of all time?
Ooh, this is a tricksy one. Clinique Vintage Red, perhaps? It’s a really great red that’s strong without being orangey. (I can’t wear orange; it makes me look unwell.)

3. If you could only use on make-up brand what would it be?
Either Benefit or Urban Decay. Possibly the latter because I don’t know how I’d live without Naked palettes anymore.

4. What is your most purchased make-up item?
Does nailpolish count, or perfume? Otherwise, probably blushers. Or lipsticks. I rarely need to repurchase anything because I always have several in rotation. The only thing I consistiently use up and replace with an identical item is my Chanel no.5 products.

5.  Which of your makeup brushes could you not live without?
The eyeshadow ones, especially the little stubby crease ones. Using them has made such a difference to the quality of my makeup application that I don’t know how I ever lived without them. (In honesty, I didn’t; I never used to wear much makeup.)

6. Falsies or no? Individual or Strip?
Not for me. I don’t much fancy the thought of glue near my eye, and since I wear glasses they would probably drive me crazy anyway. I’m lucky to have naturally long lashes, though, and I keep them in good condition by using an eyelash conditioner like RapidLash, so I don’t really need them anyway…!

7. What store do you purchase do you purchase most of from?
Brown Thomas and Boots. Sometimes House of Fraser, but mostly those two.

8. What is your favorite moisturizer?
Creme de la Mer Oil Absorbing Lotion. It pretty much can’t be beaten. Runner-up prize goes to No.7 Facial Recovery After Sun, which isn’t technically a moisturiser, but does an excellent job hydrating and soothing your skin anyway.

9. Favorite Make-up remover?
Clinque All About Eyes makeup remover. That’s the only make-up remover I use, though: otherwise I just wash my face with a warm damp cotton facecloth and a dab of Neutrogena Pink Grapefruit Daily Scrub.

10. What is your favorite thing to talk about on your blog?
My experiences of products and various things I’ve seen and done. I keep meaning to write more posts about things I’m reading and watching, but I seem to have so many beauty posts to make that I haven’t gotten around to it yet!

 

Thank you to everyone who has been reading and commenting on my blog: it’s wonderful to know that I’m not just shouting into the void. I really value the comments and likes that I get from people, and it means a lot to know that people are enjoying what I post, so double thank-yous to the two ladies who nominated me. :3

10 Comments

  1. Posted April 17, 2014 at 02:05 | Permalink | Reply

    You are very welcome! I love your blog!

    • Posted April 17, 2014 at 02:07 | Permalink | Reply

      Aw, thank you so much! There’s always a balance to be struck between regular posting and keeping things interesting, so it’s a relief to know I’m succeeding for at least some people. Thank you! ♥

  2. Posted April 17, 2014 at 02:05 | Permalink | Reply

    I also enjoyed learning more about a fellow blogger!!!

    • Posted April 17, 2014 at 02:07 | Permalink | Reply

      Me, too– it’s always the best thing about these posts, because they’re like little mini-interviews. :3

  3. Posted April 17, 2014 at 02:44 | Permalink | Reply

    Congrats!

  4. Posted April 17, 2014 at 07:18 | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you so much for the award, how nice of you ❤

    • Posted April 17, 2014 at 21:34 | Permalink | Reply

      You are very welcome! Your photos are incredible, and I think maybe because of the language gap, non-English blogs don’t get as much attention as they should. Hope it brings you lots of new followers! :3

  5. Posted May 1, 2014 at 06:43 | Permalink | Reply

    It was great fun reading your answers! Keep up the good work 🙂

    • Posted May 1, 2014 at 11:50 | Permalink | Reply

      Thank you! I’m still quite new to this blogging thing, but I’m enjoying it very much so far. 🙂

Leave a Reply

