PRODUCT EXPERIENCE: CLARINS JOLI ROUGE LIPSTICK

In my never-ending quest for the perfect pink lipstick, I have tried a great many things, but it seems as if my search might, at last, be at an end. Could it be possible? Let’s find out.

During my recent splurge in Dundrum, I was wandering the aisles of Boots, waiting for my mother to get back from the car, and found myself standing at an abandoned Clarins counter. I’ve never used any Clarins products before, and had mentally relegated the brand as the preserve of classy-but-elderly ladies (it’s one of the Queen’s favourites, I believe). However, a post I read from Betsy Powell about beautiful brows mentioned not one but two Clarins products, so I thought perhaps I should reconsider. My thoughts on brow pencils went right out the window when I spotted their incredible selection of pink lipsticks, though. Almost their entire counter was dotted with pretty little pink spots!

Well, with nobody hovering at my elbow trying to make me either Buy Something Or Get Lost (there’s nothing I hate more than being harassed when trying to sample products and make a purchasing decision; if you won’t leave me alone, my ass will walk out the door and take my cash with it), I was actually able to take my time and swatch several colours to see if the right one for me was in the mix.

And it was. Not just one, but two –read that: two— gorgeous baby pinks that promised to give me the colour I was looking for. I had to make a call between Pink Sugar and Baby Pink, and in the end went for the latter. They’re really very similar, although the Pink Sugar is in a slightly lighter formulation (Joli Rouge Brilliant Shine, I think). They’re both great pinks, though, if you’re looking for something light and gentle. A warning: the colour is somewhat scary in the actual tube itself:

clarin-lip1

but once you get past that, what you get for your trouble is a pretty, soft, shimmery pink colour without a hint of frost. Don’t believe me? Check this out:

clarin-lip2

On the right, one layer of colour. On the left, four or five layers. It’s really buildable, but the one-pass version is exactly the colour I wanted– and only using a little bit of it means it will last for longer, too.

I am absolutely delighted with this purchase. It feels good on, it looks perfect, and I don’t think it’s going to dry out my lips too badly. It’s probably not the most long-lasting lipstick I’ve ever tried, but nothing as moisturising as this is ever going to be long-wearing, so I think I can live pretty happily with it.

In the €22 price bracket, this isn’t cheap, and I’m not going to pretend it is. However, given that it’s just about exactly what I wanted in terms of both colour and feel, I would absolutely recommend this product to everyone. After this, I’ll be looking to Clarins for other purchases in the future– and I’ll try to not to be so silly as to hold misinformed preconceptions about other brands, too.

Have you found your perfect pink lipstick yet? Are you still on the hunt? Are you a Clarins fan? Have you ever been converted to using a brand you thought wasn’t for you? Drop me a line and let me know!
-A-

3 Comments

  1. Posted April 26, 2014 at 16:00 | Permalink | Reply

    I LOVE these Joli sheer lipsticks. I have 3 and use them all the time. Glad you’ve found them πŸ˜ƒ

    • Posted April 26, 2014 at 22:21 | Permalink | Reply

      I suspect I may be buying more of them in future! Thanks for commenting– and for showing me the light regards Clarins; I’ve been wearing this non-stop since I got it. β™₯

2 Trackbacks

  1. […] might remember my previous posts about my pursuit of the perfect pink lipstick. Well, we’ve got another […]

  2. By PURSUIT OF THE PERFECT PINK LIPSTICK… AGAIN on September 18, 2015 at 22:31

    […] might remember my previous posts about my pursuit of the perfect pink lipstick. Well, we’ve got another […]

Leave a Reply

