STUFF NEZ LIKES: COMPLETE REDESIGN

I’ve completely redesigned my blog over on Stuff Nez Likes, which is something I’ve been wanting to do pretty much since I set it up. WordPress makes it really difficult to customise anything without paying for a Premium account, which kind of sucks, but I’ve finally bit the bullet, pulled the trigger, etc.

STUFF NEZ LIKES: THE REDESIGN!

.
The design I’m using is Chateau, though obviously I’ve made quite a few changes with CSS edits to get it looking the way I wanted. I’ve also used one of my own photos at the top: that one was taken in Bray last year, and I absolutely love it. The Irish countryside is so gorgeous all on its own that you don’t have to be any kind of photographer to take beautiful pictures; you just point and snap, and it ends up looking like this!

I’d love it if people would come take a look-see, and if you spot any funny behaviour (elements out of line, links not working, etc.), please drop me a line and let me know!
-A-

5 Comments

  1. Posted April 27, 2014 at 01:14 | Permalink | Reply

    Looks nice! I also remember having to bite the bullet and pay even just because the default fonts look so blah. Too bad I don’t really know how to do much of anything with CSS haha.

    • Posted April 27, 2014 at 01:23 | Permalink | Reply

      Thank you! β™₯ It drove me bonkers that I couldn’t even change the colours (much less the layout and smaller features) without paying, but eventually I couldn’t stand it any longer.

      I’m reasonably handy with CSS, although if you have a hosted blog with wordpress.com rather than a .org site on your own server, there are still plenty of things you don’t have access to change, and it took me hours to find a workaround. I think I put in about fifteen hours on the new design overall, and most of it was spent trying to find sneaky ways around the design limitations without having to go and host my own site.

      CSS is actually pretty easy to learn, at least in terms of the basics. Sometimes it seems to make absolutely no sense whatsoever, but with simple things like changing fonts or colours, it’s usually basic enough. I’m far from an expert, but if there’s anything specific you want help with, let me know and I’ll see if I can try to help you figure it out.

      Thanks for commenting! :3

      • Posted April 27, 2014 at 01:26 | Permalink | Reply

        Right?? I was so surprised when I was just trying to change simple colors. I went through all sorts of options trying to pick something appealing and when I tried to save, that’s when I realized I had to pay. Boo.

        But thank you for the offer! I’ve done some of those simple things before like colors and sizes and fonts and that’s not too bad. I’m not even sure anything specific I’d want to change, but if I think of anything I’ll certainly ask πŸ™‚

        • Posted April 27, 2014 at 01:42 | Permalink | Reply

          Most sites will allow you at least a LITTLE customisation without having to toss down the plastic, so I found that very disappointing. Still, we both have what we’re looking for now, and that’s the main thing.

          Your site looks really cute and works perfectly well, so there’s nothing that needs changing, but I thought I’d make the offer anyway, because I know a lot of people are intimidated by web coding, but it’s not nearly as hard as people think! Hope you’re having a great weekend. x

          • Posted April 27, 2014 at 01:44 | Permalink | Reply

            Yes, is quite after all. But thank you, I do appreciate that! It certainly is a bit of an intimidating thing since it can look like a bunch of gibberish haha. The same to you lovely, happy Saturday!

Leave a Reply

