GRAN CANARIA TRIP: PART 4

Following on from part three of my Gran Canaria recap, we have part four:

WHAT TO EAT

trip16

I’m going to be honest: I never have much to say about food at the places I visit, because I’m pretty much the anti-thesis of a foodie. A portion of chips or boiled potato or a sandwich and I’m happy, especially if I can have ice-cream for after.

Personally, I vastly prefer self-catering to hotel stays, and would take a nice apartment over a hotel room any day of the week. Not only do you have more space, but you also have the freedom to store and cook your own food, so you’re not reliant on restaurant food at normal mealtimes. I will say that in Puerto Rico, the restaurants are pretty much open from 8 or 9am until about 11pm, and you can get food whenever you want, but still: there’s nothing like a home-cooked meal, even if the “home” in question is technically pretty temporary.

Mum actually packed rashers and sausages to take with us while we were out there, and we ate those every other day with some fabulous local eggs and tomatoes. (We also ate a lot of bread, though Spanish bread is very different to Irish bread, it’s remarkably delicious.)

We did, however, enjoy, with cocktails, this spiffy ice cream pictured above at the dancing place by the beach that I mentioned before. It was terrific, but my first recommendation from this trip is “El Rancho”, which you can find in the furthest part of the Shopping Center from the entrance.

We ate there  twice (having eaten in other places two other times, and regretted it). The food there is amazing, and their menu selection is excellent. I can personally recommend the onion soup, the grilled salmon, the grilled sole, and the lamb chops. They’re all brilliantly cooked, the staff are lovely, and they even have free wifi! Like most places in Puerto Rico, I found the prices quite reasonable– at least, if you’re accustomed to Dublin prices; otherwise, you might find them a little on the high side.

Are you a budding restaurant critic and gourmet connoisseur, or are you a fan of simple and home-cooked food like me? Drop me a line and let me know!
-A-

Leave a Reply

