I THINK I’M ON TO A CLEVER SCHEME.

I previously mentioned how Boots had been out of Hydraluron for a while. Well, it’s finally back in stock, thankfully! Delighted as I am to discover this, I’ve been giving the issue some thought and I’ve come up with a disturbing theory.

Right before it disappeared (for about a month, maybe longer) from stock, it was on 3 for 2 offer, which pretty much guaranteed the already-popular-at-full-price product would sell out. It being out of stocks for weeks afterwards pretty much guaranteed a purchasing frenzy when it reappeared, as well. (God knows it worked on me: I bought three. Go stock up now: they only had one left on the shelf when I got there, and I had to go beg a lovely sales assistant to bring me some more from out the back.)

It did remind me, though, that exactly the same thing had happened with RapidLash earlier this year. I bought it on 3 for 2 deal, then it disappeared for months, then became available again, then went on 3 for 2 again, then disappeared. It could just be a coincidence, but I’m beginning to feel like there’s a deliberate managing of availability to artificially increase demand, which honestly, kind of irritates me a little bit.

As a consumer, I don’t like feeling as though I’m being hoodwinked into buying something at a certain time. When there’s a huge saving involved, fair enough, but as a general rule, I like knowing that I can go into a shop and purchase the items I want at a time that suits me both practically and financially. I’m kind of hoping this is not the case with Boots, because I love shopping there– and also because I don’t have anywhere else I can buy my Hydraluron.

Has anyone else experienced this before, or is it just in my head? Drop me a line and let me know!
-A-

Leave a Reply

