OH, THE SHAME.

There are many ways to divide the world into two kinds of people: dog people and cat people; people with children and people who remain children themselves; tea drinkers and coffee-drinkers, etc. (For the record, I am a tea-drinking, child-remaining, dog person.) By far the most important of these methods, though, is the division between people who can pack lightly, and the rest of us poor unfortunates.

cases

Just a little light packing before a weekend away! (Only joking; these are full of books and clothes I donated to charity this week. Probably should do my donations more regularly before they spiral out of control and into mountains like this. Oops.)

 

There are people in this world who can go on a holiday after simply tossing a bikini, some suncream, a sundress, a few t-shirts, a pair of shorts and a pair of trousers into a bag, and who rock up at the airport wearing their sandals (over socks, to protect them from the terrifying Irish elements). I admire these people not in the manner of worshipful awe I regard Olympians, but with the same of confused nostalgia with which old people regard those who can get out of chairs without assistance.

I used to be like that, I always think. I remember what that was like. You look at me now and you laugh, but one day soon, it will happen to you, as well.

It’s true, too. I used to be the sort of person who could jolly off on a little jaunt with only hand luggage for company. It was harder when the new liquids regulations came into play, but I managed… Until I started my most recent facial care routine. Now, I need to carry more lotions and potions away with me than the wicked witch in a fairy story– and since I’m going to be hauling along a suitcase the size of a small moon, I might as well fill it up properly, eh? Three pairs of sandals. Four pairs of white trousers in varying thickness, length, and fabric. Two almost identical wrap dresses. Enough t-shirts to clothe a continent, because it’s not like you can wash things and leave them out to dry when on hols in a hot country now, can you…? (Oh, wait…)

Hopefully, this is just a phase, something I need to pass through on my way from “twenty-something vagabond” to “forty-something lady” (I’m giving myself until I turn forty to become a lady; if I still haven’t managed it by then, I’m giving up). As I get older, I’m hoping my stupid spots will stop and I can just start using one of those “all-in-one-anti-ageing” creams, plus maybe a serum if I’m feeling flush. That’s something to look forward to in terms of older skin, isn’t it?

And if not… Well, there’s always Muji’s minuature travel containers.

Do you travel light, or do you haul it all? Has your packing regimen changed over the years? Or do you just end up resorting to tiny decanting bottles? Drop me a line and let me know!
-A-

5 Comments

  1. Posted May 17, 2014 at 13:56 | Permalink | Reply

    Hey great blog I really enjoyed it if you can could you possible check out mine thank you 🙂 xx

    • Posted May 17, 2014 at 20:33 | Permalink | Reply

      I’m afraid yours doesn’t seem to be working, but thank you for commenting!

  2. Posted May 17, 2014 at 14:45 | Permalink | Reply

    I used to pack for 5! When I was younger, we would go camping for a week and I would have bags of clothes, magazines, makeup and anything else I thought I would need for spending all week outside or at the beach :/ Now, however, I would definitely consider myself a light packer. I think more in the sense that I don’t pack excess of what I need, plus I don’t wear makeup and make my own skin care, so there’s no need to take up room in my bag.
    Great post by the way!

    • Posted May 17, 2014 at 20:32 | Permalink | Reply

      Wow, you’ve gone the complete opposite way to me! That’s very impressive. I’m going to try to be better in the future, but it’s difficult to know what you’ll need if you’re going places you don’t know or haven’t visited in a long time– for me, anyway! I no longer bring fifty books with me everywhere, though, so that’s progress?

      What do you use for skincare products, if you don’t mind my asking?

      Thank you for commenting! ❤

      • Posted May 18, 2014 at 14:05 | Permalink | Reply

        Mostly oils: I did some research a few years ago and found that the reason my face was so dry, yet so oily was because the chemicals in my face wash. It would clean off all the oil on my face, causing it to be dry, so my pores would create more oil to make up for the loss.

        So with oil, the concept is you can’t clean oil with water, oil cleans oil. I usually use olive or coconut oil and sugar, it honestly works amazingly. My face barely ever gets dry or oily and I rarely break out.

        You should give it a try! 😀

One Trackback

  1. By A POLL ON PACKING | stuff nez likes on May 20, 2014 at 22:41

    […] really love to know where people stand on this! I’ve been thinking a lot about this since my last post, both because of my recent travel adventure and the fact that I’m getting ready for another […]

Leave a Reply

