PRODUCT EXPERIENCE: REAL TECHNIQUES BRUSHES

Today we’re going to talk about brushes. I admit, I already have quite a lot of brushes (you can see my collection previous to this purchase here), but these have been acquired pretty much willy-nilly over the last decade or so with very little thought to what I did or didn’t have previously. I wasn’t building a collection so much as I was buying whatever I thought looked good or good value at any given time.

That’s changed, recently, largely since I began this blog; I’m far more aware now of the different choices and options for makeup application, and I’ve been looking to expand my tools accordingly. Here’s the most recent addition to my collection:

real-techniques

I can’t quite bring myself to pay the price for Mac-level brushes, so I figured this was a good compromise: they’re reportedly of good quality, and they’re a reasonable price. Each of these sets retails at around the €30 in Boots, although if you are lucky like me, you can swoop all three in a 3-for-2 deal and pick up the lot for about €60. For three sets with 12 brushes, that works out at about €5 a brush– bargain!

Having already zoomed in on the eye set as soon as I saw it (I had been looking for fatter, fluffier, crease and bases brushes), I also snagged the core collection for my foundation/concealer needs, I was left debating between this set and one of those Ecotools Bamboo sets and the duo-fiber set in the middle here. While I was pondering this most difficult choice, I mentioned to my mother that I wasn’t sure which one was better, and a random kind stranger piped up to tell me that this was the far superior option. Well, who was I to argue? (Thank you, kindly stranger; I appreciate your interjection!)

I’ve had these products for a little while now, and I have to say, I am blown away by their quality. Yes, you get more for your money buying through sets even if you might also get a few things you will use less, and yes, I got a great deal on these, but when I compare the quality of these brushes to the Catrice one I reviewed a little while ago… There is no comparison. That one is perfectly fine, but considering each of these work out at the same price, there’s a definite difference in quality. These brushes are feather-soft, and they definitely do what they’re supposed to. I’ve only used the eye brushes properly so far, but I can categorically state that they blend faster and better than any other brush I’ve previously owned. I won’t be relinquishing my old reliables just yet, but if I see another opportunity to add more brushes from this line to my collection, I will be grabbing it with both hands.

Have you tried any of these brushes? Are you a Real Techniques fan? Were you the kindly stranger who helped me with my purchasing decision? Drop me a line and let me know!
-A-

2 Comments

  1. Posted May 26, 2014 at 01:39 | Permalink | Reply

    Definitely a fan of this brand! I have a couple of the brushes although I’d love to try out some of those larger sets.

    • Posted June 2, 2014 at 20:30 | Permalink | Reply

      If you can find a deal on them like I did, I would definitely recommend going for it. They’re a lot cheaper than the high-end ones, but seem to do just as good a job, so I really feel they’re worth the investment. Shop around online and see what you can find! I’ve heard people in the States talking about having been able to purchase them online at good discounts before.

      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

