THE PERFECT RED LIPSTICK

Having finally tracked down what I believe to be the perfect pink lipstick, I think it’s probably high time I talked about my perfect red lipstick. I’m a big fan of a bold red lip: when properly applied and combined with the right makeup look, I think it can make a bold style statement that’s dramatic without being too overpowering.

Finding the perfect red shade for you is always going to be a challenge, and I personally struggle with that whole warm-vs-cool colour notion. What the hell is a warm colour, anyway? Which shades of colours are cool? I can never work it out. (Similarly, I have no idea whether my colouring is warm or cool, either.) In any case, what I have discovered is that certainly some shades of red are more flattering on me than others. Bright, tomato reds do little for me in the way of clothing, and when it comes to lipstick: forget it. I’m also incredibly conscious of colours that make my teeth look anything less than whiter-than-white, so pinky reds aren’t always the easiest to pull off.

My previous go-to red lipstick (Clinique’s Vintage Red) has sadly been discontinued, I’ve discovered. In light of that extraordinarily depressing reality, I’ve come up with this replacement: Rimmel Moisture Renew in Diva Red.

red-lip-1

At only €8, it’s a real steal, and it definitely does the business. It has the same kind of old-school, vintage flair as the Clinique version at a fraction of the price, and even more importantly, you can still purchase the damn thing. (The discontinuation of my preferred products is a long thorn in my side. Clinique, much as I love them, seem to be particularly terrible for it.)

red-lip-2

Hopefully, Rimmel will keep this shade around for a long time! I love it.

Do you have a favourite red? Did you love Vintage Red and are you still sad about its discontinuation? Do you have a replacement product you’d like to mention? Drop me a line and let me know!
-A-

3 Comments

  1. Posted May 27, 2014 at 18:51 | Permalink | Reply

    Ok, so if you look at the veins on the inside of the wrist in natural light, if they look green, then you have warm skin; if they look true blue then you’re cool. Easy πŸ˜„

    • Posted June 2, 2014 at 20:28 | Permalink | Reply

      I can’t really make out either colour, to be honest! It’s a sort of a bluey green, I suppose– not a true anything. Does that mean I’m neutral? Is there even such a thing as neutral skin? Thanks for commenting, though!

      • Posted June 3, 2014 at 13:41 | Permalink | Reply

        Gosh, I don’t know but I’m sure people don’t always fit neatly into one category or the other. Frustrating for you!

Leave a Reply

