PRODUCTS I CAN’T LIVE WITHOUT #12

Continuing on with my “Products I Can’t Live Without” series, we’ve got #12: the original Naked palette. This has been out for years, and there’s a reason it’s still a best-seller– though I’ve only gotten around to discovering this recently. Having been super impressed with the quality of the shadows in the Naked 3 palette I got for Christmas, I decided to give the original a whirl a few months later. While I do still love the N3, I find that lately, I reach for the N1 palette more.

IMMD-12a

I think we all know what the Naked palette looks like by now, but there’s no harm in a refresher photo for anyone who’s forgotten:

IMMD-12b

And suddenly the reason for my terrible photography becomes clear: I take all my pics with an iPhone camera, and my phone has a case on it that sometimes gets in the way. I’d take the case off, but I’m terrified of my slippery butterfingers dropping it when the phone’s unprotected. (A valid fear considering I drop it about once a week, on average. That case is a godsend; I highly recommend them.) Anyway, crappy pics aside, you can still see why this palette is so popular, as the range of colours is pretty excellent, and the quality is still the best I’ve ever had the pleasure of using.

My personal favourite shade in this palette is Half-Baked, which is a beautiful shimmery gold. That said, having tried to keep an eye (pun intended) on which ones I actually use the most, it’s the mattes that give me the most bang for my buck. Most days, I will put a wash of Virgin all over and up to the brow, followed by a gentle dusting of Naked on the lid and some Buck in the crease. That’s my go-to look lately– my “everyday eye”, so to speak. When I want to be super glam, I’ll replace Naked with Half-Baked and Buck with Smog. I’ve only used Creep and Gunmetal a few times, but you can do a reasonably good smokey eye with this palette… Well, if you’ve got better skills than I do, anyway.

The funny thing about this palette is that I bought it purely to know which shadows would get most use and should be repurchased as singles. Although there are three clear stand-out shadows which I will definitely need to pick up as singles since they’ll run out before the rest, I have a funny feeling I’ll be buying the whole palette again, too. There’s something very comforting about knowing I can put together a whole lot of looks with just this one little velvet case, and though it is a little expensive, I feel it’s definitely good value for money. I’ve added this to my “Products I Can’t Live Without” list on the basis of that fact, then, and I suspect it will be living in my makeup drawer for a long time to come.

Do you love Urban Decay shadows? Do you have a favourite among the Naked palettes? Should I consider Naked Basics or Naked 2 for my next purchase? Drop me a line and let me know!
-A-

9 Comments

  1. lookbeyondbeauty
    Posted June 4, 2014 at 16:10 | Permalink | Reply

    I really need to buy the Naked palette, but can’t decide which one to get šŸ™‚
    Lets follow each other? šŸ™‚ http://lookbeyondbeauty.wordpress.com/

    • Posted June 4, 2014 at 16:18 | Permalink | Reply

      I’ve actually just picked up the Naked Basics, and I can really recommend it if you want to try out the quality/lasting-power of the eyeshadows! It’s also a lot more portable than the full-size versions, which I like a lot.

      Followed back; thanks for commenting!

      • lookbeyondbeauty
        Posted June 4, 2014 at 16:19 | Permalink | Reply

        Yeah I’ve been thinking about the Basics one as well, because I do love neutral shades šŸ™‚
        Thanks for following šŸ˜‰ keep up the great work! šŸ™‚

        • Posted June 4, 2014 at 16:21 | Permalink | Reply

          The Basics is… Well, it IS very basic; you get a lot more bang with the N3 or even the N1, but it’s a nice pack-and-go palette– and as with the larger ones, the quality is excellent.

  2. Posted June 4, 2014 at 18:29 | Permalink | Reply

    I have the Naked 3 but I’m not totally impressed, I should’ve gotten the Naked 1!

    • Posted June 4, 2014 at 18:40 | Permalink | Reply

      They are pretty different! If you can swallow the cost, I think it’s definitely worth getting both– or maybe the Basics palette to see how you’d like that?

      Thanks for commenting! ā¤

  3. Posted June 4, 2014 at 19:09 | Permalink | Reply

    If you’re considering buying another, I actually have a complete comparison on my blog. And I have separate reviews of both 2 and 3 if you are interested šŸ™‚

    Here is the complete review:
    http://brushesandbronze.wordpress.com/2014/05/12/triple-the-nudity-a-comparison-of-the-urban-decay-naked-palettes/

    • Posted June 4, 2014 at 19:27 | Permalink | Reply

      Ooh, thank you! I’ll read that tonight! ā¤

  4. Posted June 4, 2014 at 20:17 | Permalink | Reply

    love this!!

    http://www.fashionforlunch.net

One Trackback

  1. […] I’ve already covered, I’m a big fan of Urban Decay eyeshadows, especially their Naked palettes. But the strength of the Naked palettes, for me, is also in another way, a weakness: […]

Leave a Reply

