MY DAILY SKINCARE ROUTINE

Well, this is a post I’ve been meaning to make for a while, but I never got around to it! Today we’re going to talk about skincare, and my skincare routine in particular. I’ve never had the best skin, with occasional acne breakouts that were minimal in my teens and as my twenties wore on, seemed to get worse and worse. Deciding to take the bull by the horns, I began experimenting with a combination of products to see if I could do anything to improve the condition of my skin.
The first thing I learned is that not every product works for every person. I tried some of the miracle cures hailed by other bloggers– several of which did nothing, and the rest did nothing positive. There were a few exceptions, which I’ve now integrated into my daily regime, along with the other products I tried and which I found work for me.

My skin is probably best defined as normal– not especially dry or oily, but terribly, terribly prone to spots. Before beginning my current regimen, I suffered from blackheads and the semi-frequent awful deep acne spots that were sore and painful and almost never actually came to a head. These days, I have very few blackheads, smaller pores, and the frequency of my deep spots has been enormously reduced, so much so that I’m almost afraid to talk about it in case I’m tempting fate and they come roaring back.

This is obviously not a suggestion for everyone’s skin; a lot of the products I’m using currently are very expensive, and besides that, every person is going to need a different combination to get the best out of their skin. This is just what I’m using currently: what’s working for me at the moment, and how and when I use it:

morning

MORNING ROUTINE
1. CdlM Cleansing Gel
2. CdlM Tonic
3. Hydraluron
4. CdlM Radiant Infusion
5. CdlM Moisturising Lotion

evening

EVENING ROUTINE
1. Neutrogena Pink Grapefruit Daily Scrub
2. Clinique Toner 3
3. Hydraluron
4. No7 Facial Recovery After Sun

non-daily

NON-DAILY USE
After Showering: CdlM Refining Facial
For Breakouts: Bio Oil + Savlon Advanced Healing Gel + Clinique Blemish Gel
Every Third Night: Kiehl’s Biological Overnight Peel
Weekly: Green Angel Mud Mask

As you can see, it’s a pretty intensive routine, and I won’t deny that it takes up a lot of time. However, I will say that for me, it’s definitely worth the effort. My skin is better than it’s ever been before: brighter, tighter, and with fewer spots and breakouts than I’ve experienced before. I know there are other factors feeding into this (which I will discuss in another post), but I’m convinced that good skincare is important, as well.

Do you use any of the products mentioned above? Is your routine even more comprehensive than mine? Are you a wash-and-go girl? Drop me a line and let me know!
-A-

One Trackback

  1. […] skincare routine has evolved over a period of years, and I only add or remove something if I absolutely have […]

Leave a Reply

