THE DIET STARTS TODAY.

Well, after my tumultuous month of non-stop hubbub and activity, it’s all finally come to an end. Now that I’m able to relax a little bit, I’ve discovered –to my horror– that I’ve put on somewhere between five and ten pounds. For someone of my size and build, that’s a terrible amount to put on over a month, and it has to come off right the hell now. My diet proper starts today, and I’m giving myself two months to lose about ten pounds. That’s a reasonably doable target, I feel, especially if I do a little exercise and stick with it!

My diet plan is as follows:

BREAKFAST
Two boiled eggs OR Greek Yoghurt with berries
LUNCH
Salad (spinach, lettuce, tomato, onion, scallion, sweetcorn, cucumber and avocado) with grilled salmon or grilled chicken breast OR Boiled potatoes with cheese and scallion.
DINNER
Salad (as above) with Pine Nuts and Cheese.

For snacks, I’ll be having fruit (grapes, cherries, strawberries, blueberries) or yoghurt, and my usual mug of spinach, carrot, and apple juice every day. I’m hoping a few weeks of healthy eating will put me back on the straight and narrow, and it should also do my skin and body some good, as well! As time goes on, I’ll probably add some grains in as well, but I simply cannot be trusted with bread right now– I’ll have to go cold turkey without it for a while before I can again become one of those people who’re able to eat one or two slices without slyly slinking back to the breadbin for seconds. As diets go, though, this is one that should work for me quite well, because I love salad. I really do: I could eat it forever. The only trouble is, I also like eating lots of chocolate and crap, as well.

In terms of exercise, I’ll be upping the amount of walking I do (though it’s a little difficult at the moment since I got some blisters from overdoing it a while ago– ouch) along with some light weights and stretching/yoga. I’m really hoping I can stick to it this time, and I’ve gotten better at knowing when my trigger moments are– like now, for example: having just had a very delicious, filling, and healthy dinner, my stupid body is screaming for unnecessary sweets purely because it’s in the habit of getting them.

No, body, you may not have a Jaffa Cake or a Crunchie. You can’t have ice-cream, either. You don’t need any of those things! You just got a giant plate of salad and a salmon fillet, which should be more than enough for you. In a little while, you may have some berries, and you’ll be doing well at that!

I’m rather lucky it’s summer, though, when I can get out to go for walks and when I can have lovely salads and not be craving hot foods on top of all the sugary snacks I’m cutting out.

Are you on a summer diet? Are you a salad lover? Do you have any weight loss success stories or tips you’d like to share? Drop me a line and let me know!
-A-

Leave a Reply

