PRODUCT EXPERIENCE: NAKED BASICS

As I’ve already covered, I’m a big fan of Urban Decay eyeshadows, especially their Naked palettes. But the strength of the Naked palettes, for me, is also in another way, a weakness: they’re bloody huge. They don’t fit in your in-purse makeup bag– hell, they don’t even fit in your carry-on, if you’re trying to travel light! The solution to that, for me, is the Naked Basics palette. Lighter and brush-free, this is a lot easier to tote around with you. I can’t say that it makes a good replacement for a full Naked palette long-term, but for touch-ups and travel, it’s absolutely perfect.

All six shades are matte, which I personally love (since I use the mattes more than the shimmers in the full-size palettes), and while the range of colour isn’t great, there’s more than enough to offer you a couple of looks, ranging from the light no-makeup appearance to full-on evening glamour. As with the full-size palettes, the shadows themselves are of excellent quality, and the case is, in my opinion, a little sturdier and better able to withstand knocking about without spilling shadows than the larger sets. There’s no brush with this one, which might be a dealbreaker for some people, but since I picked up the Inglot travel brush set, I don’t worry about it so much.

If you already have a Naked palette, I would still recommend this if you travel a lot or simply like being able to bring some shadows around with you. If you don’t have one, but are considering getting one, I’d still recommend this as it’ll give you a good idea of the quality of the shadows for a smaller outlay, and even if you do end up buying a full-size palette later, you’ll probably still be able to use this one for travel afterwards.

Have you tried the Naked Basics palette? Are you a fan of Urban Decay shadows? Do you find there’s enough colours in this palette for you, or are you hooked on the larger version? Drop me a line and let me know!
-A-

One Comment

  1. Posted July 4, 2014 at 22:30 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi, you’ve been nominated for the Beauty Blogger of the Month Award! Here is the detail of the award:
    http://ceciliascorner.net/2014/07/04/the-beauty-blogger-of-the-month-award-benefit-push-up-eyeliner-giveaway/
    Cecilia x

Leave a Reply

