PRODUCT EXPERIENCE: PRIMARK BEAUTY BLENDER

Officially, this little gem is marketed under Primark’s own beauty brand, “PS Love” as their “Beauty Blender Sponge” and can be yours (if you can find one) for the staggeringly low price of €1.50. I’ve got very mixed feelings about this product, because there are an awful lot of positives… But there are quite a few negatives as well. This is what it looks like:

sponge

Let’s start with the good, shall we? The price is about a third of the next cheapest one I could find when I was looking, and about ten times less than the original cult product that kicked off the “beauty blender” trend. It washes easily and quickly (I used mine this morning before taking the photo, so it isn’t washed here, but trust me on this). It’s very, very, effective: I’ve always hated the stripey effect in foundation coverage from brushes or flat sponges, and this completely eradicates that problem while giving lovely, even coverage that’s buildable and natural-looking. The build quality is also pretty decent: I’ve had mine for a month or two now, and it hasn’t developed any tears or nicks yet. The pointy end is great for doing the undereye area, the flat end is good for foreheads and cheeks, and the curvy sides are great for everywhere else.

Quite honestly, I don’t know that I could live without a beauty blender in my arsenal now that I’ve had one. I would certainly miss it a lot.

However, I don’t know that I’ll be going back for another of one of these when this one needs replacing. The first downside of this one is obvious: it looks bloody awful, like something that rolled under the sofa at a sex party and was unfortunately overlooked in the cleanup afterwards. Moreover, it has the most strongly chemical smell of anything that’s ever been allowed to touch my face without the promise of defying time or giving me clearer skin. I can’t emphasize enough how terribly this smells; when I first opened the package, I was knocked sideways by the reek of it– if you’ve ever had to leave a memory foam mattress to off-gas in a well-ventilated room for a couple of days, you’ll know the smell I mean.

That said, two rinses with baby shampoo and one or two subsequent uses and the smell has almost completely evaporated. Now it just smells of Johnsons and foundation. There’s nothing to be done about the unfortunate appearance, but when you’re paying a tiny fraction of the price of a branded one, can you really complain?

I would recommend this to anyone wanting to decide whether or not they’d make any use of a more expensive beauty blender; it’s a cheap way of dipping your toes in the water to test if they’re for you. It’s also a viable cost-effective alternative if you fancy the idea of multiple blenders so you can always be sure to have a fresh one on hand– so long as you’re prepared to put in the effort of cleaning the lot a few times before you ever use them.

On the balance of it, though, I think I’ll try upgrading to one of the more expensive varieties when I need to replace mine, in the hopes that they’ll be less smelly and less mortifying in appearance.

Have you tried this product? Do you love the original Beauty Blender? Do you think the whole notion of a curved-edge sponge is silly fad nonsense that’ll die out soon? Drop me a line and let me know!
-A-

3 Comments

  1. Posted July 18, 2014 at 15:45 | Permalink | Reply

    I didn’t realize Primark do one of these! I have the cosmo one. I think beauty blenders are good but I’m finding I don’t reach for it that often. :-S xxx

    • Posted July 18, 2014 at 22:25 | Permalink | Reply

      Yeah, they seem to sell out pretty fast when they do get them in, so I only see them occasionally, but they definitely do them! So far as I can tell, these ones are identical to the other privately branded (ie. non-“Beauty Blender”) ones that look similar, but their price is WAY lower. Definitely worth a look if it’s an infrequent use item for you. Thanks for commenting! ❀

  2. Posted August 28, 2014 at 16:51 | Permalink | Reply

    I have just bought one today, but mine is an egg shaped one with a pointyish top so you can get the hard to reach places. I will be doing a review tomorrow on my blog blushinglyblonde.blogspot.co.uk πŸ™‚ I hope you come check out it out because I think it has been improved πŸ™‚ xx

Leave a Reply

