HANDCREAM IN A TOUCHSCREEN WORLD

I have a question for you, folks: how many of you use hand-cream regularly? I go back and forth on hand-cream as a product in general, partly due to laziness, and partly due to one other factor: the increasing rise of touchscreen devices.

I regularly use an iPad Mini, and my iPhone is never far from my grasp. Typing on a regular keyboard after using hand-cream isn’t really an issue, since they’re not transparent and aren’t a display: you don’t have to prod where you look. Touchscreen devices, on the other hand, as they function as both keyboard and screen, look icky, and sticky, and worse: the accuracy of your prodding and swiping is generally reduced as well. I’ll be honest: I’m not really a fan of touchscreen devices. I miss the days when phones had proper keyboards (by which I mean a mini QWERTY keyboard; none of your predictive text multiple-taps for me), but it seems now that it’s almost impossible to purchase even a laptop that doesn’t incorporate some element of touch input.

I was hoping I could avoid buying any tech during this period and skip right to the Minority Report style of touchless input:

minority-report1

image from reuters.com

But I have a feeling I’m not going to be able to wait. Which leaves me with my hand-cream dilemma. To use or not to use: that is the question.

Is there any way of using it without getting it all over my screens, blurring out the images and text I need to see? If I don’t use it, will I end up with crone-like old lady hands before I reach forty? Where do other people stand on this issue? Drop me a line and let me know!
-A-

2 Comments

  1. Posted August 2, 2014 at 03:21 | Permalink | Reply

    I want to know, too. I have wondered the same thing! I use moisturizer daily & after washing hands I use coconut oil. So my screens are getting smudgy! I am turning 40 this year & recommend moisturizing. My skin was getting really dry & icky but it’s much better now. I think it would look better if I had started this sooner!

  2. Posted August 21, 2014 at 13:14 | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for the tip! I’m trying to restrict my usage to at night, after the devices have been laid aside, but I feel that’s probably not enough! I wish they’d stop adding touchscreens to everything– there are plenty of devices that don’t require them!

    Sorry I don’t have any concrete info to share, but thanks for commenting! ❤

Leave a Reply

