PRODUCT EXPERIENCE: CATRICE METALLURE

One of the very few things about winter which I don’t absolutely hate is the trend for sparkly makeup. With Christmas coming up and recently back from holidays, I’m trying to give my wallet a gentle rest, especially considering that I might be upgrading my laptop in the near(ish) future. The perfect combination of these things?

Budget range Christmas collections!

products

These offerings are from Catrice, one of the few budget brands I really love. (The other, for reference, is Essence. And NYC and Claire’s do great nailpolish, even if I find their actual makeup lacking.) What I picked up here was the LE Metallure nailpolish in Metalfusion, and the LE Metallure shadows in Metallight (left) and Metalfusion (right). You can read Beaut.ie’s review of the full collection here— unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get my hands on half the range (and I really wanted the nude-ish lippy, too), because apparently this stuff sells out fast.

However, here are my thoughts on what I did pick up:

First up: the polish.

nails

The positives: the colour, the price (€3!), and the feel are all fantastic. It looks classy, and while I might have a drawer full of pretty, coloured polishes, I’ve noticed that my go-to polish tends to be either black, grey, or silver, since those tend to go with nearly anything. I’ll break out the colours and sparkles for certain outfits, but it’s irritating in the days afterwards when I find it clashing with my outfits.

This colour is great in a low-key way; the metallic edge is enough to make it stand out, but it doesn’t glare, and it will go well with just about anything you might wear apart from yellow gold jewellery. Even without a topcoat, this has really great shine, but it would also make a great base for lighter coloured glitters. I really love how it looks.

The negatives: the brush and application process. I don’t think I’ve ever had such a miserable time trying to apply nailpolish in my life. I’m pretty decent with nailpolish application, but this brush almost defeated me. It’s got the tapered sides that a lot of brands seem to like these days– not my preference, but I can deal with if if I have to. Even considering that, though, this was one of the worst applicators I’ve encountered. I’m not sure if it was just my bottle or they’re all like this, but the bristles were all different lengths and sticking out in different directions before it ever touched my nails, making tidy application difficult in the extreme.

I will give the brand another chance here because I like it, but if this happens again, it might well put me off buying Catrice nailpolish in the future. It usually takes me less than five minutes to do one coat over ten nails; with this it took me over ten minutes because I had to be ridiculously careful. For me, this is a huge irritation and would really put me off.

 

Next up: the shadows.

shadow-example

The positives: they’re really pretty, the glitter packs a huge punch, they’re very affordable (€4), and the packaging feels sturdy and durable.

I like these shadows. The two colours are really pretty, and though they fade fast enough, the glitter is very long-wearing. One of my big bugbears with budget offerings is often that the packaging: I don’t need it to look pretty or feel luxurious, but I do expect it to be solid and sturdy, to be something I can toss in a bag and not worry that it will break and destroy everything in with it. Catrice delivers here, and the see-through nature is a nice touch if you have more than one of them to prevent you grabbing the wrong one by mistake.

I can see myself using the brighter one as a solo highlighter a lot on days I’m doing minimal makeup. The darker one will be great to add extra glitter to something more dense in colour like the Naked palettes.

The negatives: the pigmentation isn’t very strong, and the glitter ends up everywhere. I know you can’t expect a lot for €4, but the pigmentation in these are definitely lacking– I had to do some post-production editing trickery to get the colour to show up even as much as it does in the photo above. That said, though, the bloody glitter lasts forever. Even after washing my hands twice, it still ended up all over my keyboard… And my phone as I was trying to take the photo.

 

Have you tried any of these products? Do you have any recommendations for the rest of the range that I should absolutely hunt down? Are you a Catrice fan, or do you prefer another budget range? Drop me a line and let me know!

-A-

8 Comments

  1. Shygirl
    Posted November 10, 2014 at 19:48 | Permalink | Reply

    Give my wallet a gentle rest hahaha! My wallet could use a relaxing weekend at a spa. I love the nail varnish. I actually love the Catrice packaging, as I love clear lids on eyeshadows and blushers so you can find the one you want quickly. Fancy packaging can be fun too though!

    • Posted November 10, 2014 at 19:51 | Permalink | Reply

      My wallet really needs some time to unwind, to be honest– I have just ordered that new computer. >_> And it’s Christmas soon, Lord help us all, although fortunately I don’t have many to buy for.

      Clear packaging is the best, but it often feels cheap and breaks easily. This is surprisingly sturdy, and I’m really impressed with it. That nailpolish brush, though– that’s a bloody nightmare.

      • Shygirl
        Posted November 10, 2014 at 20:47 | Permalink | Reply

        You may have just been unlucky and got a faulty one.

        • Posted November 10, 2014 at 23:30 | Permalink | Reply

          That’s possible, I’ll have to have a look at my other Catrice polishes to know for sure, and also take a peek at the other Metallure ones next time I’m in Dundrum– if they have any left, that is! They were moving like hot cakes the day I was there.

  2. Posted November 10, 2014 at 23:20 | Permalink | Reply

    love!

    http://www.fashionforlunch.net

Leave a Reply

