PRODUCT EXPERIENCE: KISS CUTICLE CARE

If you’re looking to improve the overall look of your hands, this is the product for you. Now, I do have a confession here: I didn’t actually buy this for myself, so I can’t tell you how much it cost or where to get it. (Though local chemists in the North-East of Ireland would be a good bet, based on the generous soul who bestowed it upon me.) What I can tell you, without reservation, is that this has basically saved me from having ugly hands all winter.

cuticles

I can’t speak for anyone else, but “hangnails” (the American term for those ugly little scraps of hard skin that peel away from the sides of your nails) are a big problem for me. I wash my hands a lot, I type, I engage in lots of DIY projects, I paint my nails a lot, I’m a fiddly person in general, and all of that ends up in dry hands and cuticle problems.

I’ve tried a lot of handcreams over the last year or two, and while I’ve found it’s relatively easy to get my hands hydrated and behaving themselves, my cuticles are another story entirely. I’d actually become so accustomed to the heinousness of them that I’d stopped paying attention, and one day I was visiting with my aunts when one of them noticed my terrible hangnails and commented on it.

“Isn’t it sore?” she asked, and I told her that yes, it was a bit, but I didn’t really notice it anymore. She was horrified by the prospect, and the next time I came to visit, she handed me a little pot of this. “They just looked so painful,” she said earnestly. “I thought someone should do something about it.” Wasn’t that lovely of her? I couldn’t believe it.

That said, grateful as I was, I was mildly skeptical, too. I’d had this problem for most of my life, and I didn’t think one little lipbalm-like pot could clear it up. A week after using this, all skepticism had evaporated.

This product is magic. I haven’t had any peeling skin around my nails in over a month. Now, a caveat: you do have to keep using it– I forgot to apply it for a couple of days and my skin did get harder and a little more rough, but that disappeared after two days of use, and I never had the peeling that I used to experience.

I now keep mine on my nightstand and apply it every night before getting into bed, the same way I do with my foot cream, so hopefully I won’t forget again. I don’t know how I’m going to get my hands on this stuff when it runs out– my aunt told her to let her know when I’d used it all up, but I don’t want her to have to make a present of it every time. Hopefully I’ll be able to weasel the info out of her so I won’t impose on her generosity any further, and when that happens, I’ll let you know stockist and price info.

Do you know where I can buy this product? Have you tried it before? Do you have other cuticle care products you’d like to recommend? Drop me a line and let me know!

-A-

Leave a Reply

