PRODUCT EXPERIENCE: EYLURE BROWS

It would probably be fair to open this with the admission that I spend more time attending to my brows than on any other singular part of my makeup routine. The reason for this is very simple: I bloody hate my natural brows. I hate them more than any other part of my anatomy, because their natural state looks so awful to me, and they take so much work to maintain.

I’ve been bleaching my brows for years; without it, they look ridiculously black against my super pale skin and compared to my not-so-dark hair. Of course, that’s only half the problem: they’re also an ugly shape, and are scraggly in places from where I plucked them when I was younger. No amount of bleach is going to fix that (and brow regenerator serum can only do so much– it’s done a lot, but there are still a few gaps), so I turn to makeup to correct it.

eylure1

My go-to product for brows, for quite some time now, has been Benefit’s Brow Zings, but as I’ve started to hit pan on that, I’ve decided to branch out a little bit and try something new.

I’ve heard good things about Eylure products, so when I spotted these in McCabesΒ  Dundrum, I couldn’t pass without trying them. On the left is the Brow Palette in Blonde (which costs €13), and on the right is the Brow Ink in Medium Brown (€11).

I am in love with the palette: it’s about a third of the price of the Benefit version, and for me, the colour is better. I have the lightest colour that Benefit do, which is in fact too light– but then, their “medium” colour looks basically black to me, so I don’t have much choice. The powder is also more dense, almost, and the included brush with these is the cat’s pyjamas, although a word of warning: it’s very firm, so don’t apply it to the powder with too much force or otherwise you’ll end up with more than you can use!

The Benefit brush is a little too soft for proper application, so for the last couple of months I’ve been using a Catrice brush, which, while good, is not as good as this one, because this one actually comes with the case so you have it to hand if you want to bring the palette with you for touch-ups. Not that you’ll really need to, since this stays put impressively well. After about ten hours, my brows still looked good– and that was without primer of any kind.

eylure2

I’m less convinced of the Brow Ink, although that’s almost entirely because of the colour. The blonde was too light, the dark brown was too dark, and the medium brown, which I got, is… Too reddish, I guess? It doesn’t look as great on my face as I would like it to.

I do love the fact that there are two ends, and that one is skinny and the other is almost like a calligraphy brush, so you can brush on individual “hair” strokes, or just fill in larger areas as needed. I love the fact that the ink stays put, absolutely, until such time as you wash it off– there’s no messing with this one; you need heavy duty makeup remover to relieve yourself of it. I just wish the colour suited me a little better. However, if you are a brunette who tends towards red rather than blonde, this will probably work for you very well.

I’m going to give myself a little time to decide whether I want to repurchase the ink or not– which is just fine, since they were running low on stock in McCabes, and Boots seem to be completely sold out! Definitely impressed with the palette, though.

Do you struggle to get your brows just right? Have you tried these products? Do you have a recommendation for anything similar that might be more suitable in terms of colour? Drop me a line and let me know!

-A-

5 Comments

  1. Posted December 8, 2014 at 20:19 | Permalink | Reply

    I have super thick brows .. They look great for few days and then I look like an ape

    • Posted December 9, 2014 at 00:28 | Permalink | Reply

      I feel like brows are the great beauty burden of our age. Nobody’s ever happy with theirs! It feels impossible to get them right…

      • Posted December 9, 2014 at 13:36 | Permalink | Reply

        I agree my dear !!! Well that’s why are women πŸ˜‰ … Never happy with our beauty πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        • Posted December 9, 2014 at 14:57 | Permalink | Reply

          Sad but true! I have a thing about eyebrows, though– for some reason I’m obsessed with them!

Leave a Reply

