PRODUCT EXPERIENCE: TANGLE TEEZER

 

 

This is a Tangle Teezer. It is the best thing I have ever owned.

tangle1

(Yes, that’s a reflection of my phone. Sorry about that; I couldn’t avoid it. Literally. I bent myself into all kinds of shapes to see if I could get it out of shot, but I couldn’t, so there it is. Enjoy.)

I am in love with this little piece of kit, because it is quite honestly one of the best purchases I have ever made. I’m kicking myself that I didn’t spring for one sooner. The only reason I didn’t, in fact, was because of the price. They’re €16 in most place, and I always felt that was a bit steep for what is essentially a hairbrush they were too cheap to put a handle on.

How wrong I was…! I’ll be buying another one of these if I have to sell the house to do it. They are only brilliant. I did buy a “budget” version a couple of months ago, which was about effective and pleasant as using a hedgehog might be– not to be recommended. It’s definitely worth springing for the real McCoy; unlike with the hedgehog, the lack of handle here is not about cheapness, and is, in fact, all about lovely ergonomics:

tangle2

Look how snugly it fits in your hand! It’s almost like a computer mouse you can use on your head! It’s just perfect all over. It’s super light, too, which is a great bonus both for use and for portability. You could chuck this in your bag and it would only take up minimally more space than a fold-up brush, but would be infinitely more effective.

If you’ve ever seen any of my OOTDs, you’ll know I have long hair. Like– really long, so long that I can sit on it if I tip my head back a bit. It is also incredibly tangle prone, because I have a lot of fine hair, and it just somehow seems to work itself into knotty dreadlocks that remind me of the tangles our red setter used to get around the ears.

I’ve tried a variety of brushes over the years, and nothing has come close to the ease or effectiveness of this beauty. My brushing time has been dramatically reduced, I wince less (which is better for avoiding frown lines), and best of all: there are nearly no hairs in the brush when I’m finished. Considering I shed more hair than a litter of long-haired cats, this is incredibly impressive.

I’m converted. Utterly and absolutely. In fact, I’m in danger of turning into one of those loonies who love a product so much they buy one for all their friends and family regardless of whether or not they need or would like it. I love this thing that much. I never want to use anything else on my hair ever again.

Boots sell these for €16, but if you live in Dublin, you can pick one up in McCabes for the far less costly sum of €10. If your hair is shoulder length or longer, you could do a lot worse than to treat yourself to one of these babies, believe me.

Have you tried the Tangle Teezer? Do you have hard to manage long hair? Do you have any other top tips to share for taming your mane? Drop me a line and let me know!

-A-

2 Comments

  1. Posted December 20, 2014 at 19:12 | Permalink | Reply

    Need to get my hands on one of these! I have painfully thick hair and there are plenty of tangles that need teasing! Carys x

    • Posted December 21, 2014 at 00:26 | Permalink | Reply

      So worth it. My hair is just a nightmare, and even though it can still take a while with this (if I’ve been out in the wind while wearing a scarf tight around my neck, for example), it’s easily the fastest and most gentle thing I can recommend.

      I didn’t buy into the hype originally, but I’m SO into these now. Thanks for commenting and good luck finding one! ❤

Leave a Reply

