GOD BLESS US, EVERY ONE!

As Christmas is now officially upon us, I just wanted to take take the opportunity to wish everybody Happy Holidays. ‘Tis the season to be merry, so I hope everyone has a wonderful time over this festive period, whatever festival it is you choose to celebrate– or don’t.

Let me share my decorations with you:

garland

It might not look like much, but I’m super proud of this garland because it was all hand-made– by me! It’s very simple, and all you’ll need are a few spare Christmas ornaments, a wire coat hanger, a length of tinsel (~3m), and some holly. Mine was kindly donated by my aunt, who shares some Christmas holly with all the family every year so we all have a little piece of the farm in our houses!

To make this, all you need to do is bend the wire into a roughly circular shape (you don’t need to unhook the top part, and it doesn’t have to be perfectly circular). If you have something like a biscuit tin lying around (and let’s face it: it’s Christmas, so you probably will) you can use that to help you round out the hanger. Once you’ve done that, you just take one end of the tinsel, hold a few inches off the end of the hook part, then start wrapping the tinsel around the hanger. Three meters just about covers one average-sized hanger, when it’s densely packed. Continue wrapping to the end of the hook, then tie a knot in the tinsel at the top with the tail-end you left from the beginning. Then all you need to do is attach some of the ornaments (you can open the strings they come with, or just thread an elastic band through them if need be). The holly is optional, but I think it gives it a nice lift! I’ve just tied that on with a bit of silver-streaked wool I had lying around– that came from Dealz, actually, and is only €1.50 a roll!

tree

This is our Christmas tree. It is a pre-lit, fake tree (the only kind worth having, in my book– I can’t be doing with dropping needles and trying to string all the lights) with an extra strand of blue lights thrown in for good measure, along with some blue and turquoise ornaments, because this room already has red accents, so a red-themes tree doesn’t really stand out, whereas this one does! The present wrapping, bizarrely, was not intentionally coordinated with the tree ornaments– mum just chose the turquoise  paper, and I chose the dark blue. Funny how that worked out, but I think it looks lovely!

The shopping has been completed, I’ve handed out my presents (bar the ones for mum), and all the cards have been written, so I’m going to settle myself in and snuggle down for a lovely quiet Christmas. I’d like to thank everyone who’s been reading my blog over the last year– your comments and likes have been a wonderful present year-round, and I appreciate everyone who takes the time to interact with me.

May you all get everything you dreamed of, and may all your gifts be well-received.

Happy Christmas, everybody.

-A-

5 Comments

  1. Posted December 25, 2014 at 04:02 | Permalink | Reply

    MERRY CHRISTMAS MY DEAR !!!

    • Posted December 25, 2014 at 21:05 | Permalink | Reply

      Happy Christmas! Hope you’re having a lovely one. ❤

  2. Posted December 25, 2014 at 22:18 | Permalink | Reply

    Yup my dear .. Kids been jumping opening toys all morning !!

    • Posted December 25, 2014 at 22:30 | Permalink | Reply

      Aw! I’m having a quiet one with my mother– we did dinner, and then presents. Got lots of lovely things which I’ll be talking about over the coming weeks on my blog. :3

      Hope you found something fun yourself as well as for your munchkins! ❤

Leave a Reply

