CHRISTMAS HAS COME AND GONE :(

Gosh, for someone who did so much bitching about Christmas coming, I feel surprisingly saddened about it being over! I actually had a really lovely, really quiet Christmas. I stayed home with mum, made dinner, and then watched three solid hours of soap nonsense on telly. All in all,  a good day…! My Christmas tree looks all sad and bare without its cache of pressies underneath, but I am so delighted by my gifts that I couldn’t possibly feel too badly about it. Here’s what I got:

christmaspresents

Clinique Gift Bag
Clinique Lash Power Mascara in Dark Chocolate
Clinique All About Eyes Serum
Clinique Cream Shaper For Eyes in Black Diamond
Kiehl’s Rare Earth Deep Pore Cleanser
Kiehl’s Rare Earth Deep Pore Cleanser Sample Size
Kiehl’s Skin Rescuer
Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate
Kiehl’s Micro-Blur Skin Perfector
Burt’s Bees Lip Shimmer in Grapefruit
Urban Decay Naked 2
Urban Decay Naked 2 Basics
Chanel no.5 Loose Body Powder
Kiss Cuticle Remover
Kiss Cuticle Cream
Captain America: The Winter Soldier Blu-Ray
Guardians of the Galaxy Blu-Ray
Elektra Blu-Ray
GAP Fingerless gloves
Hermes scarf

Not pictured: Navy UGG boots (yay!) and Paul Costello faux fur throw pillows and blanket. The latter was a surprise, and boy was I surprised! They’re so cozy and soft, though, so I might try to take photos of them– they make snuggling up on the couch extra comfy in these chilly times. (It will surprise nobody to say you’ll be seeing the UGGs regularly in upcoming OOTDs. Love UGGS. Love them.)

I should probably have asked for exercise gear, though– I’m going to have to be rolled out of the house come new year! Mum did most of the cooking (apart from my special potatoes) but I was in charge of setting the table, so I had a little fun coming up with something pretty and different:

tablesetting

The lights are old champagne bottles filled with battery-operated fairy lights, if you’re wondering. Super easy to do, and looks really interesting! The same lights are also draped over the floor lamp in the corner– I think I might keep those there year-round, actually; they’re really very fun.

Of course, no amount of cute table decoration is going to take away from Mum’s dinners:

christmasdinner

If you’re thinking it’s basically the same as my birthday dinner except with brussel sprouts and garlic potato, you’d be right. Roast lamb is definitely my favourite dinner…! I’m just not that into turkey.

Or Christmas pudding, for that matter; for me, it wouldn’t be Christmas without cake:

christmascake

We got white chocolate curls this time, and little fruit pieces, for some reason. Not complaining! They’re delicious. Definitely going to this bakery again; it’s aces.

I had such a lovely time this year that hopefully it will motivate me to not be such a Grinch in the run up to Christmas 2015. I just have to do what I did this year: get all my business done well and early so that the last couple of days before Christmas aren’t spent in frantic terror… And which, mostly importantly, will allow me to avoid all car parks for at least ten days before Christmas Day. (I’m pretty sure being able to do that was critical to my enjoyment of the festive season this year. Trying to find a space in a jam-packed car-park is my idea of hell; avoiding it definitely allows me to enhance my calm.)

Did you have a great Christmas? Are you gunning for the sales? Do you have any fun stories or tales of Christmas terror to share? Drop me a line and let me know… But I hope all your dinners went off beautifully, all your presents were delivered on time, and the day was everything you dreamed of.

-A-

Leave a Reply

