PRODUCT EXPERIENCE: INGLOT CREAM CONCEALER

I’ve had this product for a while, but I don’t think I’ve talked about it before, which is a shame, because it’s damn good.

inglot-green

This is shade #60, and don’t worry, your eyes aren’t deceiving you. It is indeed green. Quite obviously, undeniably, green: the colour of split-pea soup with all the unfortunate horror-movie associations that entails.

That is what makes it so brilliant.

Colour correction is something that’s been around for a while, though as a general rule I can’t be bothered with it; I skip foundation anyway, most of the time. However, there are days where you quite simply cannot skip concealer, not unless you want people asking you what minimum safe distance is for when Krakatoa goes off. On those days, this is just the fellow you need.

The best way to use this stuff, I find, is to layer on your primer, and then use this. Let it dry. (This is a pain, but also important.) Dust a little of your finishing powder over the top with the pad of your finger. Then apply your flesh-toned concealer (but gently). Finally, dust with powder again to set. (If you want to use foundation, you can do it before concealer, after the first round of powder, but obviously you need to be even more gentle with it.)

This does a really good line in covering spots, but it does not feel especially good to use. It’s thick –thicker than my Benefit Boiing– a bit like toothpaste, and if you were ever short something to fingerprint a criminal, this would do rightly. (No joke: when applied directly to the skin with a fingertip, it leaves a perfect fingerprint mark until blended out.) However, it also absolutely kills the redness of spots, and provides a pretty good base for regular concealer, so despite the weird feeling of applying it, I’m going to be keeping this one around for a long time. Unfortunately, I have no recollection of what this one costs, but Inglot is generally a budget-to-mid-price brand, so it can’t be too terrible.

If you’re in the market for heavy-duty colour correction concealer, you should definitely give this one a chance; it’s earned its place in my permanent collection, and I will definitely be repurchasing.

Do you use colour-correcting concealer? Are you an Inglot fan? Have you tried this product out? Drop me a line and let me know!

-A-

6 Comments

  1. BlackLaceandGlitter
    Posted January 5, 2015 at 18:12 | Permalink | Reply

    Have you used it with Benefit’s Boiing? Do the two work well together? x

    • Posted January 5, 2015 at 18:31 | Permalink | Reply

      I have indeed. I find I have to be careful when applying the Boiing over this, though– that seems to really need a lot of blending, and too much touching at the area where I’ve applied this tends to blend it out and lessen its efficiency. They can and do work together, but it’s more work for you, basically.

      Consequently, I only use the Boiing when I have an absolute whopper of a spot that needs heavy-duty plaster-level coverage. The rest of the time I use a Clinique concealer that doesn’t need quite as much blending as the Benefit one, and that works REALLY well with the Inglot.

      Thanks for commenting, and I hope that helps! ❤

      • BlackLaceandGlitter
        Posted January 5, 2015 at 18:40 | Permalink | Reply

        Thanks 🙂

        Which Clinique concealer is it you use? I’ve only ever used their primer, so I’m not really familiar with the products D: x

        • Posted January 5, 2015 at 18:44 | Permalink | Reply

          It’s the Line Smoothing Concealer, which you can see here:

          http://www.clinique.com/product/1596/6088/Makeup/Concealers/Line-Smoothing-Concealer

          To be honest, I don’t know how well it works for line smoothing, but it definitely does a good line in covering darkness underneath the eyes or redness around spots. What I really love about it is that it’s applied with a little wand like a lip gloss– which is a bit odd, but actually very handy.

          Hope that helps! ❤

          • BlackLaceandGlitter
            Posted January 5, 2015 at 20:57 | Permalink | Reply

            That sounds great! My main problem is under eye circles with occasional blemishes, and it’s just so hard finding products that work for both!

            You’ve been so much help, thank you 🙂 x

            • Posted January 5, 2015 at 22:09 | Permalink | Reply

              Not at all! I suffer the same affliction, so I so feel you. The Clinique is great for that, in my experience. Something else I like is the La Prarie version of Touche Eclat (which I tried and did not at ALL work for me). Heinously expensive, of course, but worth a look if you’re feeling flush.

              Is the Clinique primer any good? I’m using a Kiehl’s one right now after trying Benefit and Smashbox and finding them both only so-so…

One Trackback

  1. חוויות עבודה בחו”ל

    … עבודה בחו”ל – תוך כדי דיבור שוטף, יומיומי ובלתי מחייב מהווים גם הם ומגיעים בדמות שעות עבודה. אם נשווה זאת למכירה בחנות ששכרה הוא שכר המינימום, בארץ, להרוויח הרבה יותר של ביקור תיירותי. מי שבו… PRODUCT EXPERIENCE: INGLOT CREAM CONCEALER « stuff .…

Leave a Reply

