PRODUCT EXPERIENCE: CHARLOTTE TILBURY AIRBRUSH POWDER

Continuing on with my exploration of my Christmas and Birthday presents, today’s write-up is about my experience of the Charlotte Tilbury Airbrush Flawless Finish powder. There’s a lot to like about this powder– the first of which, for me, is that it’s properly pale!

airbrush

The powder only comes in three shades: Fair, Medium, and Dark and they all lean towards the lighter side of things. For me, this is great, because I’ve always struggle to find foundations and powders which are light enough for my skin. I am naturally very pale, and have no interest in attempting to change this basic and inoffensive fact with makeup– something most makeup manufacturers seem to find a baffling and upsetting notion, if their product offerings are anything to go by.

Not so here.

Of course, if you’re at the other end of the skin scale, you might not be able to find anything in the range to suit you; the Medium shade is what most companies would class as pale, and the Dark shade doesn’t look to me like it would suit someone with very black skin. For my vampire-esque paleness, however, this is perfect. If you’re been looking for a luxury powder in a pale colour, this should definitely be on your radar.

The packaging is pleasantly sturdy, and also blessedly compact– my other preferred powder option has a far bulkier case, so this is a vastly more portable option. The trade-off for this, though, is that it doesn’t come with any kind of applicator, so you’ll have to either bring a brush or apply with your fingertips when you’re out and about. Given that it’s palm-sized and very, very slim, I can happily overlook the lack of applicator.

The powder itself is also thankfully odourless (I am not usually a fan of scented makeup), and it is insanely finely milled. It feels buttery soft (that’ll be the rose wax and almond oil), and it basically disappears onto the skin when applied. Unless you absolutely cake it on, there’s a very minimal “powdery” appearance, though it does still make a difference to the look of the skin in terms of reducing shine, blurring pores and fine lines, and giving softness. I’m guessing (though cannot speak from experience) that it would also set makeup pretty well, too, on account of how tiny the grains of powder are.

Colour-wise, this might not work for everyone: in addition to being very, very pale, it’s also more yellow than pink. For me, though, this is a bit of a god-send, as most paler foundations seem to operate on the principle that you would tan if only your skin would allow it, and thus if you want a pale foundation, you must be a pink-toned Classic Irish Lass or Traditional English Rose. However, yellow-toned people who still prefer avoid the sun do exist: I tan well, when I venture outside. I just generally tend to not, on account of wrinkles and melanoma and also the fact that I would be hard pressed to find a more boring activity than lying idle and spread-eagled in a patch of warm light to try to ensure my sun damage is evenly spread… Apart from the inescapable white arse and headlamps, obviously. (Why does anyone tan? This is genuinely a mystery to me. Unless you do it nude and flexibly, you end up with more stripes than a zebra crossing. I just do not see the appeal.)

This powder, however, does appeal. I like how pale it is, I like how lightly it sits on the skin, and I like how it feels to apply. Also in the €45 bracket (I cannot remember exactly how much, as it was a present), this is not a cheap option, but if you’re looking for a non-pinky, finely-milled, super-pale, expert-blurring powder, you should definitely give this one a look.

Have you tried this product? Do you have a powder to recommend for those of us who are pale and (questionably) interesting? Can you explain the appeal of using the sun to turn your body parts different colours? Drop me a line and let me know!

-A-

2 Trackbacks

  1. By FACE OF THE DAY « a n e z on February 8, 2015 at 19:18

    […] is, I’m both pale and yellow/neutral toned. Getting foundation to match this shade is, as I’ve mentioned before, nothing short of nightmarish. Consequently, I’m hoping to get to trial a few before […]

  2. By FACE OF THE DAY on September 18, 2015 at 22:00

    […] is, I’m both pale and yellow/neutral toned. Getting foundation to match this shade is, as I’ve mentioned before, nothing short of nightmarish. Consequently, I’m hoping to get to trial a few before […]

Leave a Reply

