FACE OF THE DAY

The other day, I posted up my OOTD, but thought it might be fun to do a separate FOTD post for the makeup I had on at the time, because it actually turned out pretty well!

fotd5

Here’s a rundown of the products I used:

Skin
Kiehl’s MicroBlur Skin Perfector
Inglot Cream Concealer in #60
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer in #02 Light

Eyes
Eylure Brow Palette in Blonde
Urban Decay Naked #1 (Virgin and Gunmetal)
Max Factor Masterpiece Waterproof Mascara in Black

Lips
Charlotte Tilbury Lip Lustre in Red Vixen

Cheeks
Estee Lauder Tender Blush in Rose Nuance

fotd-products

My skin is actually not acting up terribly at the moment, so I was able to get away with a little bit of primer and some concealer, applied very gently with my (freshly washed!) fingertips. I’d intended to have the focus on the lips, but the eyes turned out more intense than I’d intended, so instead of going overboard on the lips, I skipped the lipstick I was intending to use and went with gloss-only for a lighter look.

In addition to the products above, I used a selection of brushes for this, a mix of Real Techniques, Jemma Kidd, and Catrice:

fotd5-brushes

Brush #1 is used for blusher, obviously, and despite the fact that I only used two shades on my eyes, I did use the other five brushes on those!

I used the Real Techniques “Deluxe Crease Brush” (#2) to apply Virgin as a base all over the lid and right up to the brow bone. This is a great brush because it’s huge and really soft, so it can do either blending or base application in a jiffy. That done, I then took #4 (the Jemma Kidd pencil brush) to apply Gunmetal to the crease, and blended it out with #3, the Real Techniques Duo Fibre Eye Brush. This brush is surprisingly useful; it doesn’t pick up a lot of product, so if you’ve blended too much, you can easily use it to add a little more colour to your look without having to worry about overdoing it in one stroke.

Then I took #6 (which is from Catrice and is actually a lip brush), dipped the pointy end in the Gunmetal, and applied it very gently along the lower lid, just outside the lash line. The tip of this brush is so fine that you can easily nudge individual lashes out of the way and get a really super precise line– almost like an eyeliner, but much softer. I then did the same on the upper lashes, and blended both out with #5, the Real Techniques Accent Brush.

I finished by curling my eyelashes, applying the mascara, and then letting my lashes dry before curling a second time. While they were drying, I filled in my brows with the Eylure powder, applied a light slick of the Charlotte Tilbury gloss to my lips, and added gentle sweep of the blush to finish up my look. I then gave my lashes another go of the curler just for extra hold (which lasted more or less all day). Overall, I was quite happy with how it worked out!

What products are you loving right now? Which brushes are your go-to godsends? What colours see the most use from your shadow palettes? Drop me a line and let me know!

-A-

One Trackback

  1. By JANUARY BEAUTY ROUNDUP « a n e z on February 2, 2015 at 19:14

    […] brush #217 Urban Decay Naked 2 Charlotte Tilbury Portobello Girl lip gloss Urban Decay Naked 1 Charlotte Tilbury Uptown Girl […]

Leave a Reply

