PRODUCT EXPERIENCE: CHARLOTTE TILBURY LIP LUSTRE

Another one of my delightful birthday presents, today I’m taking a look at the Charlotte Tilbury Lip Lustre in Portobello Girl.

portobello

I have another one of these in a different shade which I’ll do a write-up on at some point in the future, but I’m going to cover this first because it’s easier, since this is a great “everyday” product. It’s from The Ingenue, one of my favourite of Charlotte Tilbury’s “Iconic Looks” as I think it’s a great everyday face. As it happens, this is the only product from that look which I own, as I already owned items which could fill in for the products (no need to be greedy and double up, now). I really love the pinky lips, though (for me, they define this look) and I was tempted by the promise of “a non-sticky gloss”, so I thought I would give this one a try.

Here’s a genuinely terrible close-up of my badly-bitten lips (with bonus earphones) so you can see what it looks like on:

tilbury-lips

Sorry about that; I thought I’d be able to crop the image down to just my mouth, so I didn’t bother to take my earphones out… But the image of giant, disembodied lips really freaked me out, so I went back to the original crop. Hence the earphones. And the god-awful skin. Oh, well. Back to topic:

This gloss has its good points and its bad points.

The good points:

  • It has really sturdy packaging. The stick “clicks” home, and can’t look closed when it isn’t, so there’s minimal chance of sticking it back in your bag by accident when it’s open. It also takes a fair bit of force to open it, too, so I’m guessing lip-gloss-everywhere-oh-god-no incidents are unlikely to happen with this one.
  • It’s gently glossy: there’s a gorgeous sheen without any kind of glare.
  • The shimmer pigments suspended in the formulation give the appearance of fuller lips.
  • If you’ll pardon the pun, this really glosses over any areas of uneven skin: if you’re a lip-biter or one of those disgusting people who pulls the skin off their lip with their teeth (like I do), then this will help to disguise any rough and baldy patches you’ve left behind.
  • It’s got good staying power– for a gloss, it lasts pretty well, though it does leave a residue on cups and glasses (and probably men, if you have one).
  • It’s not so sticky that you’ll feel that awful smacking sensation when you part your lips to speak (or eat, or breathe, or do anything else).
  • The colour is really pretty.

And the bad points:

  • The smell. It isn’t overwhelmingly strong, but considering you’ll be applying this right under your nose, you will probably notice it if you’re all all sensitive to scents. To me, it smells like burnt penny sweets, which is not desirable in a luxury product.
  • It’s still sticky. Not so sticky as other products I’ve tried, and it’s not going to stick your lips together, but if your hair gets in your face, it’s going to stick to your mouth.
  • The colour is very sheer. If you like that, as I do, then you’ll be happy. If you think you can use this alone to achieve the level of colour in the model’s pictures, you’re going to be disappointed.

Overall, the good points outweigh the bad, but considering that these are in the €22 range (again: gift; I don’t have exact price to hand– my apologies), unless you are crazy about one of the colours in this collection, there are probably cheaper options out there which will do much the same thing. Still, it’s far less expensive than a similar product from Dior or Armani– it’s about on a par with MAC, which I feel is about the right pricepoint.

Bad points aside, I still love this product. I can see it living in my handbag for a quite a long time as a replacement for my beloved Estee Lauder Ultra Light Gloss, which has sadly been discontinued. (Why do the makeup gods take away everything I love, why!?)

If you’reΒ  looking for a sheer, pinky gloss, which is minimally sticky and shimmers beautifully, this might be a good option to consider.

Have you tried this product? Are you a fan of lip glosses in general? Do you have any recommendations for a gloss that is genuinely not-at-all-sticky? Drop me a line and let me know!

-A-

6 Comments

  1. Posted January 18, 2015 at 01:03 | Permalink | Reply

    I like the shade on you and your lips look great, so no worries! πŸ˜‰

    • Posted January 18, 2015 at 01:09 | Permalink | Reply

      Aw, thank you! ❀ It's a very natural look, this one, but don't let that fool you. The rest of the range is much more strongly pigmented. I'm wearing the red one here: https://anezash.wordpress.com/2015/01/13/face-of-the-day/

      As you can see, it's a much more obvious shade, so these do pack a punch, this shade is just intended to be on the gentle side. Thanks for commenting! ❀

      • Posted January 18, 2015 at 01:10 | Permalink | Reply

        I like that it’s subtle, when I pick out lip color I tend to choose more of a natural looking shade. You wear it well!

        • Posted January 18, 2015 at 01:12 | Permalink | Reply

          Me too. Sometimes I’ll wear something bolder for fun, but I definitely tend towards the more natural end of the makeup scale. (Which is probably how I ended up with the entire Naked palette range…)

          Thank you so much for your kind comments; you’re very sweet. x

          • Posted January 18, 2015 at 01:25 | Permalink | Reply

            Oh I agree there are days where I’m like I’m wearing red, it feels like a red kind of day. lol Aw, thanks, you’re very sweet too! ❀

  2. Posted January 18, 2015 at 02:39 | Permalink | Reply

    i love the packaging of that gloss! x
    just followed, would be much appreciated if you followed back ❀

One Trackback

  1. By JANUARY BEAUTY ROUNDUP « a n e z on February 2, 2015 at 19:14

    […] brush #217 Urban Decay Naked 2 Charlotte Tilbury Portobello Girl lip gloss Urban Decay Naked 1 Charlotte Tilbury Uptown Girl […]

Leave a Reply

