THE FIT REPORT: JANUARY

I’m hoping that doing one of these at the end of every month will help to motivate me and keep me on track for the next month! I started 2015 with the goal of shifting a bit of weight and increasing my overall fitness, which I had sadly let slide towards the end of 2014. My fitness plan for January was basically this:

– Cycle 20km, five times a week (or 400km at month end)
– 10 minutes of free weights every day
– One mug of fresh spinach/apple/carrot juice every day
– No more low-fat yoghurts
– Remember to take my vitamins (Omega 3 + Glucosamine) daily
– Swap dark chocolate for milk chocolate
– Low-cal/fast one day a week

So far, I’m mostly doing okay! Which is a surprise to everyone, myself most of all.  Here’s how I’ve fared on my plan for January:

400km cycled? I got to 325, though!
Done 10 minutes of free weights every day? Yep!
Had one mug of fresh juice every day? I slacked off when it got so cold washing veg hurt!
Ditched the low-fat yoghurts? Done and done. Don’t even miss them now.
Taken vitamins every day? Surprisingly, I manged this.
Swapped dark chocolate for milk chocolate? Too many left over Christmas sweets. 😥
Fasted one day a week? Though I did manage it three weeks out of four.

Overall, I don’t think I did too badly… Of course, January is the easiest month, since just about everyone is taking it easy in January! It’s only going to get harder from here on out, but I’m really hoping I’ll be able to keep it up since I feel better about myself and everything else when my fitness (and, let’s me honest, my weight) is going in the right direction.

Weight-wise, I shed about 4.5 (Christmas) pounds, and I’ve definitely done more exercise than I would have otherwise if not for having a goal I was trying to achieve, even if I didn’t quite get there. I feel my skin is improved for all the veggies I’ve been eating– and although I didn’t manage juice daily (honestly, sometimes it is just TOO COLD to stand around washing a big pile of vegetables in cold water), I did manage to eat 3-4 of my 5 day almost every day. On several days, I had nothing BUT vegetables, and I’ve eaten so many carrots I’m slowly turning orange. I’ve been working on learning to cook delicious new things that are lower in sugar and fat than my old fare, and eaten almost nothing in the way of “bad” foods (there was a pizza, once, but we won’t speak of it).

So how do I feel at the end of January? Better. Slimmer, fitter, and pleased to have kicked some bad habits, but unsure how to measure any other improvements.

I can’t say that my energy levels have been noticeably improved, since my sleeping schedule is so messy that it interferes with conclusions on that front. I do feel like my skin is brighter and with fewer blemishes for the combination of regular exercise and better diet… Though that’s difficult to determine, as well, since I’ve upgraded my skincare regime since the start of the month, and have also been trying to be more diligent about it. I’m pretty sure I’m fitter; I don’t feel my cycling requires as much effort for the same distance now, and getting on my bike became a habit I more-or-less accepted into my life after a few days– like with brushing my teeth before bed, I felt restless when I didn’t do it. I can, at least, say for certain that I have definitely lost weight, since that one is readily quantifiable. I’m confident I’ve toned up some, too, since my jeans and shirts are fitting less snugly in the last week or so.

It has definitely been worth it, so I’ll be continuing this on into February. I’ll let you know how I got on then!

How have your January plans been going for you? Are you making health and fitness a priority in the new year? Or do you have a different focus you’re enjoying for 2015? Drop me a line and let me know!

-A-

6 Comments

  1. Shygirl
    Posted January 31, 2015 at 20:43 | Permalink | Reply

    Fair play, you did really well. In January my goals were to give up crisps, bars, chocolate etc and to exercise for 30 minutes daily. I skipped one day of exercise and one morning I had a muffin. Apart from that I stuck with it. I love yoghurt, I couldn’t give it up. I often add fruit like strawberries or blackberries. Yum.

    • Posted February 1, 2015 at 07:03 | Permalink | Reply

      Aw, thank you! You did really well, as well.

      I gave up the yoghurt because I was eating those low-fat Activia ones, and they’re not really that good for you, and I didn’t need them. Proper yoghurt probably isn’t so bad, but I’ve read terrible things about the effects of dairy on the skin, and I couldn’t give up the cheese, so the yoghurts had to go!

      Thanks for commenting, I hope we’re both able to stick to our resolutions in Feb. ❤

      • Shygirl
        Posted February 2, 2015 at 17:55 | Permalink | Reply

        In Febuary I’m going to cut down to exercising 3 times a week for 30 minutes. I walk to and from work, and its 15 minutes each way. It’s really time consuming adding 30 extra minutes of exercise daily on top of that! I had some chocolate covered brazil nuts when I came home from work today. But I am happy enough with how my weight loss is going, so I think it’s okay to have a little treat once a week or so.

        • Posted February 2, 2015 at 19:19 | Permalink | Reply

          Treats are necessary, I think, so long as they’re more like “I haven’t had this for a while and I’d like some” than “I’ve had a shitty day so I’m going to fall into a tub of ice cream”. 30 mins of daily exercise should be enough for an adult, especially if supplemented with an extra hour and a half of dedicated exercise.

          My eating was dreadful today, but that was largely because I never got a chance to go to bed last night and was out running errands all day so I needed energy in the form of lots of bread. Wholegrain, extra seedy (baked goods: the only thing where ‘extra seedy’ is a positive and not something creepy) good stuff, but still not so great for the waistline.

          I should also be up on the exercise bike right now, but having been up for nearly two days on the trot and walking around all day, it’s all I can do to sit in the chair and watch Emmerdale! Hope you’re having a pleasant Monday! x

          • Shygirl
            Posted February 2, 2015 at 20:03 | Permalink | Reply

            I hadn’t had chocolate since new year’s eve, and I really enjoyed it, instead of mindlessly eating it. If you are really tired and have been on the go, it can be more productive to rest. There is no point in pushing yourself too hard and exhausting yourself. Rest days are just as important.

            • Posted February 4, 2015 at 23:01 | Permalink | Reply

              This is very true! Well done on the choc, though– you’re dead right that if you take a break from it for a while you enjoy it a lot more, and in smaller amounts.

              It’s just making yourself take the break that’s the problem. I’m such chocolate addict that it’s not even funny. 😥

Leave a Reply

