PRODUCT EXPERIENCE: ALONG CAME BETTY

It’s been a while since I discovered a surprise product that really impressed me, but this Along Came Betty scrub from Tesco has done exactly that!

betty1Most of the new products I try out these days come from recommendations or reviews I’ve read, but this was something I tossed into my shopping trolley a few weeks ago because I needed a replacement for the (also brilliant) Body Shop scrub I’d gotten for my birthday. I’m doubly grateful for that present now I’ve discovered how hellaciously expensive it is– so much so I couldn’t bring myself to spring for the replacement. I decided I’d try a supermarket alternative for a while, and if it didn’t work, I’d have to take the plunge and pick up the branded version. I am so glad I did…!

betty3

Along Came Betty One Pot Of Polish, despite the long title, is frankly amazing. At about €7, this is cheap as chips and astonishingly effective. After one use, my skin was smooth as a baby’s– Well, you get the idea. Honestly, nothing I’d ever used before had left my skin feeling anywhere near as nice as this! The effectiveness has not diminished with repeated use, and I think this (in conjunction with my Clarisonic Body head) are combining to completely rid my skin of any traces of unpleasantness like KP. It’s a sugar and salt scrub, so you get the best of both, and it’s got a lovely apricot scent. It’s quite scrubby, with little exfoliating particles, but doesn’t feel too harsh or touch on the skin. I love this stuff, I really do.

betty4

Here’s the down side: I’m pretty sure this is only available in a few, select Tesco shops (I picked it up in Dundrum, but it hasn’t been in most others I’ve visited). To make matters worse, I always find Tesco Ireland’s website be very lacking in its range… And of course, this isn’t available on it. If you live in the UK, however, you can order it through the site there, but it doesn’t seem to be available anywhere else.

If I can find this again, you can be very sure I’m going to repurchase, but alas, I have a feeling getting my paws on it is going to be tricky…

Have you tried this body polish? Are you likewise frustrated by product availability in Tesco? Do you have another body scrub to recommend? Drop me a line and let me know!

-A-

4 Comments

  1. Shygirl
    Posted February 17, 2015 at 15:00 | Permalink | Reply

    I always make my own body scrub. Brown sugar, mixed with grapeseed or almond oil. Cheap as chips and does the job!

    • Posted February 21, 2015 at 20:45 | Permalink | Reply

      I’ve thought about doing that, but I’m always worried about it working out too messy or too scrubby. How well do you find it works? Apparently Coconut Oil is the best thing ever to use as a base, but I haven’t tried that yet, either…

      Sorry for not replying sooner; I’m a little under the weather right now! x

      • Shygirl
        Posted February 22, 2015 at 22:38 | Permalink | Reply

        I find it great, leaves my skin really soft. The thing about coconut oil is you would have to to melt it first as it’s solid at room temperature.

        • Posted February 22, 2015 at 23:26 | Permalink | Reply

          Yes is most certainly is. Which came as some surprise to me when I tried to cook with it for the first time! Not sure how it would work for scrubs now you mention it– microwave, maybe? Although I can see that ending up like my (sole) experience with Home Waxing…

          (Which, needless to say, was less than stellar.)

Leave a Reply

