FACE OF THE DAY

 

Part of my Super Busy Week Of Awesome (Which Unfortunately Gave Me The Flu) was going to a a gig where a friend of mine was playing. Because I was going to a club, I decided to amp up the makeup a little and give the Rock Chick look from Charlotte Tilbury a try– smoky eyes, nude lips, etc. Here’s how it turned out:

fotd19

I was pretty happy with it overall, although because I was over-nighting in a hotel, I only brought travel size foundation, and you can see by the comparison with my neck that it was just a tad too dark for my skin! You can also see the messy, un-made hotel beds behind me, oops. Mother would be so ashamed that I didn’t make my bed that morning, but I was just so ill that it was a struggle to dress and do makeup, much less anything else. I’m pulling such a weird face in this photo, too, mostly due to trying to look awake and like I wasn’t going to keel over and throw up at any minute. I can’t even blame having been on the town the night before (since I wasn’t; we did a spa evening instead). I can only attribute it to the oncoming sickness which has currently has me bed-bound.

Here’s what I was wearing:

fotd19b

Benefit Porefessional Primer
Rimmel Match Perfection Foundation in #100
Clinique Line Smoothing Concealer in #02 Light
Benefit Brow Zings in Blonde
Charlotte Tilbury Luxury Eye Palette in Rock Chick
Benefit
They’re Real mascara
Clinique Quick Blush in #05 Pronto Pink
Wet & Wild Balm Megaslicks Stain in E128
Estee Lauder Pure Colour Gloss in Sparkling Shell

The eagle-eyed may also have spotted that I’m sporting some kind of glitter about the cheeks– couldn’t tell you what it was, since my friend applied it when she squeezed out too much for herself by mistake! I packed pretty light for this trip, and this was more or less all the makeup I brought, aside from a red lip gloss to give me an alternative look, if I should want one.

I do love the Tilbury palettes, but I can’t help feeling they’re not quite as versatile as the Naked ones. Obviously, the Nakeds are far larger and thus less easy to pack, but they’re also cheaper, despite being of similar quality. I’m planning to mess about with my Tilbury quads a bit in the future to see what can be achieved with them in terms of versatility, but I don’t know how far it’s possible to deviate from the “prescribed” look with them. Packing Rock Chick was perfect for me for this particular trip, as it was an overnight stay which involved wearing only no makeup (spa time) and heavy makeup (gig time), but I don’t think it would have been nearly as useful as one of my Naked palettes if I’d been staying longer and had a greater range of activities planned. Maybe I’ll change my mind after a bit of practice, though?

Have you tried the Rock Chick eye quad from Charlotte Tilbury? Are you a fan of the heavy eye/nude lip style? Do you have any suggestions for using this palette in other ways? Drop me a line and let me know!

-A-

11 Comments

  1. Posted February 23, 2015 at 04:03 | Permalink | Reply

    Ouch the flu 😕 , what a party pooper
    Hope you are feeling better
    You look great in the picture !! I love the fun look ..

    • Posted February 24, 2015 at 17:20 | Permalink | Reply

      Thank you! I am still dying and writing this from my sickbed, alas. Hope you are keeping well! ❤

  2. Posted February 23, 2015 at 04:03 | Permalink | Reply

    I have not tried Charlotte Trilby yet

    • Posted February 24, 2015 at 17:21 | Permalink | Reply

      It’s a lovely range, but it’s quite expensive for what it is? With the exception of the Skin Perfecting Powder (not sure if that’s the correct name, but it’s something similar), you can probably find the same quality at a lower price point.

      I do love the eye quad, though; the colours are really pretty and very complimentary. Keep an eye out for it!

      • Posted February 25, 2015 at 01:29 | Permalink | Reply

        Good to know ..! I am usually really cheap on makeup. I spend only when it’s worth the price more like, cheaper stuff won’t replace it kinda gal..

        • Posted February 26, 2015 at 00:06 | Permalink | Reply

          I’m not sure this qualifies as that. The pigment is good and the colour selection is well-thought-out, but I imagine you can get the same from the likes of Smashbox, Urban Decay, or MAC.

          • Posted February 26, 2015 at 00:50 | Permalink | Reply

            Well that does it .. I am not trying this brand !! Thanks dear

            • Posted February 26, 2015 at 20:14 | Permalink | Reply

              Yeah, if it’s gonna be a One Big Treat type deal, I probably wouldn’t recommend it, alas. I love how this looks, but it just isn’t versatile enough to justify sacrificing something (or somethings, plural) else when I feel like you could get as much for the money elsewhere. Glad I could help! x

Leave a Reply

