ON MOTHER’S DAY

Mother’s Day has toddled around again, and everyone seems to be writing deep and insightful thinkpieces about motherhood in general or their relationship with their own mother specifically. Here’s the thing: I’m not a mother, nor do I have any wish to be one, so I’m not sure how much value my opinion has there. As for my own mother… Where would I start? By saying thank you, I suppose.

mothers-dayChristmas, 1985

 

Thank you for bringing me groceries and medicine while I’ve been sick*.
Thank you for teaching me how to fix a sink.
Thank you for teaching me the correct amount of Domestos to use when cleaning the floor.
Thank you for putting up with my mood-swings.
Thank you for listening to all my nonsense.
Thank you for my love of reading and music.
Thank you for all the dinners.
Thank you for the birthday cakes.
Thank you for the birthday presents.
Thank you for my love of healthy food.
Thank you for my sense of humour.
Thank you for my independent spirit.
Thank you for your support.
Thank you for your advice.
Thank you for the fun.
Thank you for the good example.
Thank you for being my friend.

Thank you for being not just my mother –because in simplest definition the word means nothing in and of itself beyond the expression of a biological capability– but for being a good mother, for being the best mother I know.

Thank you for being kind, and clever, and present, and available, and interested, and caring, and inspirational, and generous, and for trying every day to be the best mother you can be. I notice. And I appreciate it.

Thank you, Mum.

-A-

 

*As mentioned above, I’ve been super, super sick. I got a dose of the flu which left me housebound for nearly three weeks! I’m pretty sure I’ve never had the flu this badly in all my life. I am on the mend, though, and regular posting will resume very shortly… ❤ Hope you guys are all doing well! x

3 Comments

  1. Posted March 16, 2015 at 01:50 | Permalink | Reply

    Lovely post and I really hope you get well soon my dear

    • Posted March 16, 2015 at 02:59 | Permalink | Reply

      Thank you! I’m feeling miles better than I was, although still getting an intermittent achy throat. Hope you’re having a nice day! x

Leave a Reply

